Wildlife of Yucatan: tailless whip scorpion

in #nature5 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Welcome to my Wildlife of Yucatan series where I write about interesting animals that I have encountered here on Mexico´s Yucatan Peninsula.

A couple of months ago, we relocated back to Playa del Carmen that is located right in the middle of the famous Mayan Riviera so I was not expecting to have too many wildlife encounters here as we are basically living in the center of a busy city with the jungle being miles away from us in all directions.

Yet, it was here where I just encountered one of the most bizarre (and creepiest :D) creatures so far. Yesterday, when I got back to our apartment in the evening, I spotted this guy sitting on the wall in the kitchen, right next to our internet router.

IMG_20190312_201519.jpg

I first stared at it for long seconds as I had never seen anything like this before but then, I realized I could grab my cell phone and take some shots of it.

After a brief consultation with Google, I figured out this curious creature is known as the tailless whip scorpion, an ancient arachnid order with some 155 different species found in the tropical and subtropical regions around the world.

Now if you were already thinking these guys are creepy and disgusting, you better stop reading here because the following sentence can bring on some serious nightmares to you. Ok - I warned you - some species of this animal have a leg span of up to 70 cm (27 in). I actually had to double check the number. Yes, 70 cm! So the fella that showed up in our kitchen yesterday was just a baby or one of the smallest species because his leg span was just some 20 cm. Still large enough to freak you out though, right? :D

You have probably noticed that I usually illustrate my posts with my own photos only so I am not going to show you images taken by other people but if the tailless whip scorpion caught your attention, I recommend you google out some more photos of it as there are some incredible shots of this creature on the internet.

Hopefully, I will come up with something cuter in the next episode :D Thanks for reading!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Oh!! Sweet Jesus!! I would have sceamed!

!tip

Thanks God, I missed this visitor:D I hope it won't come again.. if yes, you will hear me from Mexico to USA! :D @dswigle

Hahaha!!! I am sure you would hear me too!!!!!!

I think Tammy would actually pass out :D She has a phobia of creatures like this. Fortunately, she was not at home when we had this "visit" :)

Oh! Yikes!! You are lucky!!!

@matkodurko bude mít jistě z tvého seriálu radost :-)

@phortun je znamy tym ze postuje len nechutacke potvory :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Lhal bych, kdybych řekl, že jsem si na něho při psaní tohoto postu nevzpomněl :D

i always try to checked your content cause when i checked this, i seen different beautiful photography and others. overall nice presentation.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wildlife-of-yucatan-tailless-whip-scorpion


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 20.01 % upvote from @boomerang.

🎁 Hi @phortun! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87