Boring Tale about Water - Rokkor 50mm 1.4 manual lens preview.

in #nature6 years ago


Hi there,

The movie has been made as a test of old fashioned, manual lens MC Rokkor - PG 50mm 1.4 mounted on Canon 6D digital camera.

I was shooting with opened aperture 1.4-2 , as You can see, the image is quite blurry, especially in the distance but giving nice bokeh in close-ups, really shallow DOF, but what to expect.
It is more artistic or experimental lens than real good action-movie stuff.

If You watch the whole movie without scrolling - You are the boss! ;) . I know it is boring, but as I said, it was just an experimental movie.
Hope You like it anyway!

If You are interested in my work, check my web page:
https://www.asphotovisions.com/

You can find my works also in Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/AdrianSzatewiczPhotovisions/

... and Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/photo_visions/

Full blog with many other things here:
https://steemit.com/@photovisions

Calendars 2019, photo-workshops offer and more on my web.
Thanks and until next one!

Footage: Adrian Szatewicz/PhotoVisions project
Music on free YT licence


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I really watched it for 7 minutes. You have capture the movement of water nicely. And you know what, this sound of water can cure your insomniac. It sound so peaceful. With few seconds of green it does refresh my eyeside before it back to water :) . But is a nice movie shooting with your manual lens MC Rokkor - PG 50mm 1.4 mounted on Canon 6D digital camera. It require a lot of patience and work. Good job.

Maybe next time try movie different bird sing? I am sure it would be colorful :)

Great! Amazing, I thought nobody will watch to the end ;)... at the planning stage I wanted to cut it half on lenght but finally decide to leave all the scenes almost untouched... Thanks for comment. Filming with manual lens using tripod which is not really profesional - needs a lot of practice to be perfect. Some scenes looks ok, some other not, but I know of this and I will work on it in future :).

Excenlete content in general, the images shown, the audio, truly sublime and relaxing .. A quality work @photovisions

Thank You for such good opinion about it :D !

I have always thought that the fall of water, anywhere, is an act that drives me crazy, I find it profoundly poetic because I feel it is the ultimate expression of life, the running and falling of water. Thank you for showing us this wonder, I am fascinated.

Nice! I am happy to hit Your "weak" spot ;) with this movie. I always find the sounds of flowing water very calming and relaxing, maybe not big waterfalls, but such a small stream like this one here. Thanks for comment!!

Well, the very start of the movie seemed what its title sounded - boring. Why? Because it started with blurred background. 😊 However, the rest were okay. And yes, I watched until the end so to answer the question, I was still there. 😊

You hand seems to be shaky from clip 00:12 to 00:26 (I replayed the video to get the time stamp!) but the rest of it looks like the lens was on a drone. Smooth transition of photos.

Are the water sounds the natural ones that were captured by the camera or did you have voice over the video? I am just amazed that the sounds are so clear.

Overall, good shot!

Great You watched it all - and really thanks for Your comment. About shaking scenes - unfortunatelly I don't have proper tripod with video adapter, just regular one I use for photos, so moving the camera on it is almost never smooth ike it should be - I now this issue but I really didn't planned to share all these scenes... but I did :). The sound is straight from the camera, I didn't use any other external microphone or so, fully natural.
I am happy You liked the video and gave me Your thoughts on it!

It's okay. The shakiness was obvious only in a short time frame as compared to the majority of it that the transition looks smooth. The camera must be very good in capturing the natural sound but how about the background music? Were you playing that while shooting or did you put that as part of post-processing?

The music I added later, during processing the movie, I used some free tracks from YT library, they are not maybe the best but nobody will tell me that I am doing any plagiarism ;)... Thanks for comment.

YT library? Cool... I did not now that there are royalty-free sounds in there so thanks for sharing that!

You know it was boring but you still choose water as your subject. Why?

Yes, huge library of music and sound effect to use in Your creations. Good it is something like that...

Why water - because it is great subject - for me... but I have this imagination that it can be boring for most of You and other thing - movie itself is not very much dynamic ;)... but I shared it anyway and as I see it was a good choice. This stream is flowing in very nice location which I like to visit regulary in every season of the year.

This stream is flowing in very nice location

I agree. I myself would visit that very often if I am anywhere near it. It looks so cool, refreshing and relaxing to be there. I may even play in the water. One thing I notice though is that there are no creatures swimming in the water, not even a tadpole! 😂

Few times I saw really small fishes in the nearest bigger pond :D

50mm is one of my favorite lenses, if it is not everyone's favorite, at least the ones I have, and I quite liked what you did here, it's a small scene that relaxes by its natural sounds, and its various focuses. a good job, applause for you!

Thanks! I am experimenting with filming - this is something new for me so I thought it would be nice to practice with control of manual focus and building some compositions in the same time, also, I wanted to check here how this old lens will work during filming. I made one mistake - I didnt try to shoot the same scenes with different settings - like little more closed aperture - it could show the differences between the DOF size and sharpness. I checked the video on place, but You know- it is hard to see if something is sharp or not using just a small camera screen.
Thanks for Your comment and Your thoughts!

I don’t know why, but at the end of the movie I had to go to the toilet 😅😀✌️...

Yes it was really relaxing with the chilling background music. 👍 nice buddy, and I also checked your Instagram - there you have some really fantastic masterpieces 👌

Greetings from Germany :-)

Hahahaa, yes, it is dangerous to watch it will full bladder ;)...
Experimental stuff so I am really happy You liked it! I am updating my Instagram profile from time to time, not much time spend there but slowly I want to be more active also there.

Thanks for comment and greetings from Norway!

Wow, how did I missed that?
Very cool work Adrian! The location is amazing and the lens just dreamy!
I just couldn't believe there were no fairies and elves jumping around, the whole scenery indicated just the opposite :)
Moving the camera trying to manual focus seemed quite tricky though. You used just a tripod, right?
It doesn't really matter, the result is really really good and not boring at all!
Congratulations for your curie upvote, too!
Well deserved :)

Really nice to know You liked it also! Like I answered many times in this post - I really didn't expect the movie won't be boring for anyone... - seems like I have no idea what can be liked or not ;). But - it is really good for me seeing such a great support and warm opinions. This will be really big shot of energy to make more movies in future. Thanks for that!

Hi photovisions,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, Thanks a lot! I am really happy You liked this creation :).

video is beautiful, I love this water effects and love the sound...you make a beautiful job ❤😊❤

Thank You, it is quite simple, I now this, but I was testing the lens in natural light, didn't planned to make a movie from it but in final - why not, I will have good piece of video to use in my later works as well...
Thank You for comment!

I see you are using reverse psychology here. Your film isn't boring at all. It is so relaxing to watch and follow various streams and trees and environments in the forest. The woods look a lot like we have here in Lithuania but perhaps less rocky. Then I looked deeper and it appears you are from Norway. Which part?

Keep creating and sharing your art. Thank you for letting me walk in the forest with you.

Wow, I never thought to be accused of using the reverse psychology method :P ... To be honest - I am really surprised so many of You liked the video - and this fact is giving me great amount of energy to create more of such videos showing some more of my favourites spots I like to visit. I never thought someone will say it is interesting - these days all the media are full of proffesional and beautiful movies about nature, wildlife, travelling... so it is hard to expect someone will like such not proffesional video, especially that I am very new in making movies and this one was just an experiment ;)...

I live in middle Norway, 10km from Trondheim. Not the best location in Norway but it is beautiful also... why not the best? Because all the highest mountains and most fantastic landscapes are far to the north or south... to reach some higher mountains I have to drive around 150 km one way...

If you can dream it, you can do it... Go for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89