Native Australian Flowers

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I love native Australian plants. My garden is almost entirely natives. I love their flowers, and their form, and I love that they bring the native wildlife like native bees, and rainbow lorikeets.

As I was out walking with the dogs this morning on a chilly Brisbane morning (let's say a crisp 11 degrees C), I was appreciating the trees that are still in flower as we head into our winter.

This is a Eucalyptus, or gum tree. I'm not sure of the variant but I love it's vibrant red colour, and the gum nuts that follow the flowering.

IMG_20180513_095128.jpg

IMG_20180513_095055.jpg

This is a grevillea honey gem, complete with foreign honey bee. I have 2 of these in my front yard to attract the rainbow lorikeets.

IMG_20180513_095442.jpg

IMG_20180513_095559.jpg

This is a melaleuca, or paperbark. It's actually from the same family as the Eucalyptus. These flowers seem to attract large swarms of flies when they first appear, and they can have quite on off-pungent aroma when en masse.

My favourite Australian native tree is the Banksia. It is such a diverse genus! This is a banksia candlestick from my front yard.

IMG_20180513_100118.jpg

Here's another flower in the fork of the tree. This will become a hard seed pod in time.

IMG_20180513_100126.jpg

image

Finally I have one last banksia pod. I belive this is a coastal banksia. It has more of an upright form, and larger pods than the candlestick.

So that's the diversity of flowering native Australian trees within 1.5km of my home!

Sort:  

Amazing honeygem and the banksia is gorgeous. I love our natives... we grow far more of them than anything.. they can be underrated but a native garden is spectacular...and hope to get some more established over wintee here in vicco

These are so beautiful and totally strange to me. I envy you for getting to see these everyday. Wow!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I belive this is a coastal banksia.
It should be believe instead of belive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77