fungi friday - more unedibles!

in #nature5 years ago

...every day recently starts from a long rain in the morning, and ends with a few sunny warm hours in the evening -- which is a good weather option for mushrooms to grow. and, indeed, they do grow a lot in the nearest yards and at the park green lawns. I didnt borrow camera yesterday, so I used my iphone to capture all the beautiful mushroom spots I stumbled upon. (And if they last long enough, I will cover them with macro-tele).

IMG_1422.JPG

do you see an opportunity for #googlyeyes here?

IMG_1423.JPG
IMG_1424.JPG

in my opinion, these look like very similar to truffles... except they are not black-colored, rise above the ground (and truffles still stay under), and cheap .... er.... no, not cheap: they have no market value at all, while truffles are damn expensive! cause they have unique food quality to boost and exaggerate the taste of any other food. i.e. truffles work as a food catalyst... and these lazy ballfungi don't work at all. they just sit around in the ground. lazy fellas!

IMG_1425.JPG

IMG_1412.JPG

IMG_1415.JPG

IMG_1417.JPG
topsy-turvy down. looks like a shroom grenade for me, hehe.

IMG_1418.JPG


more inedible fungi diversities, especially for you, @ewkaw.
I remember you love them when they are tiny and in solid quantaties :=)

IMG_1426.JPG

IMG_1427.JPG

IMG_1429.JPG

...none of them are allowed to grow to this size:

IMG_1441.JPG
they are so tasty, that dozens of people collect them before they can grow sufficiently.

IMG_1473.JPG
can you believe this? no? good for you!
cause I am just joking. ofc, these are non-edible. ( this guy states they are edible when early. not 100% sure, tho, he is talking about exactly the same specie! so, no guarantee). so, nobody collects them.

yesterday, when I was shooting them in my local park, I totally understood one thing. Its not a firm knowledge, it's a deduction I came to, or you may count that as a strong suspicion. See, on the grass of the park you can find a lot of... what? A lot of dogs are being walked out from the local households ... and they defecate every day on these green lawns. I am sure, these little fungies love the dogshit! and grow exactly on a well-fertilized dog spots.

ok, next time, and --

Happy Fungie Friday to you!


#FungiFriday fun challenge by @EwkaW

I hope many of you will join as there are only 2 simple rules:

  • when Friday comes, share your fungi with us! post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, stolen images will be checked and reported !)
  • add #fungifriday (not necessarily must be your 1st tag). that's all!

Sort:  

Первая серия - это зрелые дождевики. Когда они молодые и мясистые, вполне даже съедобны. Совсем зрелы наполнены "цыганской пудрой". При нажатии пшикают серо-коричневыми порами))

You need to stake more BEER (6 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

This is the creation of mother nature. As nature is very creative.

agree! it is very diverciful, and I like like that very much! my eye is never tied to watch these whimsical shapes! thanx for stopping by, @impressions

The little ones look like mica caps to me, i've eaten them but they are only good in soups since they dissolve easily. I don't think i've ever tried those rough puffball mushrooms before. Are they black inside?

Posted using Partiko Android

'puffballs' are edible when they are young, they are white inside and not very solid... quite soft. I cant say anything useful about the taste, as I didnt tried yet. @sketch.and.jam

The pear shaped oned ones around here have a smoked woody taste in a good way. Good with potatoes though you'll need alot of oil or butter to keep them from drying out in the pan.

Posted using Partiko Android

Those are fungi eggs! hahaha

elf's eggs? look more like grenades for me ))))

actully, they are edible, you know? @sketch.and.jam just provided an info, he says puffballs have "a smokey wood grilled taste and they go really well with potatoes and meat" -- this sounds excellent, and very attractive to me! (I am very fond of grilled tomatoes and eggplants). @blacklux

Go and eat some and if you don't die then yeah is edible! hahahaha

ok, I see... you want me to die and not to see my ugly posts.... right? so bad of you! :P
I will obey.. take a few more pics and bite zem! @blacklux

No, no... you will be the guinea pig... look at it like a science project ahahaa

Regards, @qwerrie; looking at your fantastic photographs at first my smell prevailed in my eyes.
What a deep smell of wet earth and what perfume of chlorophyll came from the grass!
Beautiful job!
All the photographs are so good, my favorite is that of the seed "rotting" next to a pumpkin (something that germinates cannot be broken down).

1stly, thank you a lot, for kind words, @gracielaacevedo
actually I dont think these are great shots,
at least I cant take any responsibility for them:
mother nature did the job. I just pushed the trigger
on my iphone4 a dozen times. but finally, today
I was able eventually to shoot these mushrooms
(which grow very close to my house!) with a proper camera and lens.
i will do the post as soon as possible with the images,
I am really proud with. meanwhile, very few for you:

bc6n4zyzaw.jpg

ldeb3ictyn.jpg

hax49glxlq.jpg

rh5mcuc0z3.jpg

ygsgt0foj0.jpg

You made me smile with those pictures,
particularly with the second. Thank you.
congratulations pr your photos (with Ifone or with camera)
The world is fantastic, nothing boring.

exactly! nature is always changing, rich, fantastically inventive and picturesque. nothing boring @gracielaacevedo

You're lucky you have a good variety there... I only get one kind and it's considered lucky to even find those... sighhh...

ooo! maybe you are right, about diversity. but funny thing is: I thought the same about you! your climate/weather must be highly fungi-friendly! :) @ackhoo

Yeahhh, I would think so too!
Somehow 'they' don't seem to agree....

I wouldn't eat them if I knew that the dogs are going to deposit their poop there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83