Raising Tadpoles (Day 40) - We Have Legs!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Youtube Link

First Day
Previous Day

Day 40

The development of the tadpoles is overall going swimmingly, three have really begun to advance developmentally, you cannot only see the back limbs growing but the stubs of their front limbs. The next two weeks should really be a sight to behold for them as they continue their metamorphosis. The rest are beginning to grow their back legs, which are still too tiny to pick up in photos. The larger tadpoles, however, have fairly visible back legs growing in that are in my opinion, the cutest little things to see flapping about as they swim and occasionally kick to build up the muscles.

Make into gif.gif

On a more culinary note, I've decided to test the new feeding schedule for the tadpoles starting today. In the past week or so, the feedings have gone from 22 ml to 29 ml of tadpole suspension, tadpole powder mixed with water. While the tadpoles seemed to appreciate the increased food, the increased amount of powder littering the bottom of the tank was hard to ignore. Clearly, a large amount of the food wasn't being consumed in time before it settled at the bottom, forcing the tadpoles to suck it up from there.

180605_0002 - Copy.jpg

I've now decided to try a different feeding schedule, rather than feeding the tadpoles all of the suspension at once, perhaps it would be more efficient to give them two smaller, spaced out meals instead, I thought. Today, I started by feeding the tadpoles 15 ml first and then another 15 ml approximately 2 hours later. While it's too early to tell if there will be a significant impact, I feel that the initial results are promising, compared to yesterday's water change, there seemed to be a significant reduction in the amount of tadpole powder that had settled to the bottom of the tank. While requiring slightly more attention, I feel this will allow for more efficient feeding, which will result in not only more well-fed tadpoles but will also better maintain water quality, since excess food can foul up the water.

Next Day


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I liked the picture .. a wonderful opportunity .. good for you
Wonderful creature
Thank you for sharing your adventure with us‏..

this is awesome, I haven't seen tadpoles in that stage. :)

It's really quite a sight, they wiggle their little legs like a baby in a swing as they swim along.

Wow that's a nice experience i have never really love those things before but i think thanks to your post i have a change of mind towards them now but am still scared of them i don't just know why

I'm glad to hear that. :)
They're actually very friendly if you spend time with them. My female will even swim up and sit in my hand during feedings.

Hahahaha on my hand Jesus i will not only shout but i will run too

this is amazing, funny thing, I kept a frog at some point but I eventually let it go, but this is beautiful

I am happy to hear you enjoyed it. :)

I must confess that is quite amazing.

I've never seen anyone raising popcorn before. I see the progress is there. Slow but surely the Tadpoles are going along just nicely. DO keep us posted in terms of how the tads are coming along. Maybe by the time you post again the feet will be Cleary available.

Ha, popcorn's a good term for it, they rarely stay at the bottom of the water for very long. About a week ago, before their lungs had developed much capacity, they'd come to the surface often enough that it sounded like a bowl of Rice Krispies (though the fact that there's 82 of them played no small part).

Good job excellent friend information thank you for sharing support me with a vote

While fighting with my cat:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29