Raising Tadpoles (Day 119) - Managing the Numbers

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 119

Now that I have the portable air conditioner installed, I can more directly control where the air flow is being pointed by simply turning the unit directly towards the tadpole and frog tanks themselves. This has worked fairly well, I even found condensation on the glass of the tadpole tank this morning, the room was neither particularly moist nor particularly hot (the temperature was still in the mid-70s °F). Since I switched the froglets and tadpoles between the 20 gallon and 10 gallon tanks, I've been able to keep the feeding amount down to 2.5 ml of tadpole suspension without any issues. Since there are roughly 7 tadpoles who have now developed or are in the process of developing their front forelimbs, I'll soon start to try lowering the tadpole suspension feeding to 2 ml or even 1.5 ml once those ones have developed, which will leaves us with 15 only tadpoles.

GOPR2388-edit-edit.JPG

I'm going to have to start talking to a few local pet stores in order to see how many would be interested in purchasing some directly, rather having to go through the wholesaler. With there already being 24 froglets and juveniles in the 20 gallon tank, I'll need to begin using the tank divider in the main tank and moving the juveniles again if I hold onto all of them long enough for every one of the tadpoles to develop into froglets. At the current rate, I'd say I have at least a week and a half to two weeks before I have to worry about that sort of tank sorting. I'll still have to clean the eggs off of the decor tomorrow before I move anything in or out, a major concern is the possibility of eggs getting washed down the drain. While it is unlikely any would survive, these frogs are known carriers of Chytrid, a bacteria devastating frog populations the world over, and I'd have to make sure none enter the local environment.

Current Totals:

22 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank)
24 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [9 froglet, 15 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

Congratulations @ribbitingscience! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10