Raising Tadpoles (Day 12) - Maintaining the Tank

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 12

I finally had the chance to get a measurement after today's tank cleaning and the tadpoles are now around 20mm (~0.8in) long.

GOPR1397 - Copy.JPG

My daily routine is fairly straight forward:

First, I feed the tadpoles and wait at least two hours (make sure to very gently mix the water to allow even distribution). I'll typically use the turkey baster to blow some of the food that's settled at the bottom back up around an hour later.

When I'm ready to clean the tank, I gather my supplies: a turkey baster, enough water jugs to do a 30% water change, a kitchen scale, a cup, a bucket, Epsom salt, baking soda, and a funnel.

At this point, I measure out the right amount of Epsom salt and baking soda to replace the amount lost in the water change (about 2.6 grams/gallon for Epsom salt and around 1.3 grams/gallon for baking soda). My water comes with 0 general hardness and 0 carbonate hardness straight from the tap. African Clawed Frogs strongly prefer hard water, water that soft results in health issues. If you don't have water hardness issues, you can skip this step. What you can't skip, however, is making sure to put Seachem Prime into the water in order to bind any heavy metals, ammonia, and nitrite. I then pour the cup into the water jug using the funnel.

GOPR1396(edit) - Copy.JPG

I now take out 30% of the water from the tank by placing a bucket on the kitchen scale and stopping after reaching the appropriate amount. I use the turkey baster to suction as much of the spent food and waste that has accumulated at the bottom since yesterday. Once the bottom is reasonably clean, I use the cup to empty out the rest of the water to be changed.

After dumping the water, I pour in the new water and am finished with the daily cleaning. The least disruptive way I've found to pour in the water is to place your hand at the surface of the water with your fingers bent as if you have a ball in your hand, very slightly raise your pinkie and index fingers (your fingers should still be touching.) I find it works best with a gloved hand and the fingers spread by a few millimeters. After that, I put the lid back on the tank and wash anything that touched the water.

GOPR1398(edited) - Copy.JPG

Next Day

Sort:  

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

appreciator upvote in the amount of $119.11 STU, $232.25 USD.

For a total calculated value of $119 STU, $232 USD before curation, with approx. $30 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11