Raising Tadpoles (Day 122) - 50 Shades of Froglets

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 122

I had strongly suspected it but could only confirm today, when I saw a bunch of new clinging tadpoles, Tiny laid a second batch of eggs about two days ago. Since tomorrow is the feeding and cleaning day for the main tank, I'm going to have to pull the decor and clean it off. Too many of the eggs heading into the filter will overwhelm it and foul up the water. Additionally, I turned off the air conditioning in the room for now since it's been a bit cooler as of late and cooler temperatures will cause them to breed, I may just leave it on during the day exclusively depending on the forecast.

GOPR2418-EDIT.JPG

One thing that continues to surprise me is the shear variety of color shades the froglets have come in despite being albino. Some are pinkish in tone, others yellowish, and others are even slightly bluish by comparison! Unlike many other frogs, such as Pacman Frogs, African Clawed Frogs are not divided and sold by vendors using intricate coloration differences. Of the main African Clawed Frog species Xenpus Laevis, you'll see them being divided by 'albino' and 'wild type' - that's about it. Personally, I'm glad about that as there are already enough inbreeding issues as it is, never mind people attempting to perpetuate different 'morphs' and 'breeds' on top of it. For those seeking some variety, two species, Xenopus tropicalis and Xenopus muelleri, also exist. The identifying feature of the Tropicalis species is that the frogs are much smaller tha Laevis frogs. The Muelleri species is also small but the truly defining feature is orange Mueller'si orange underbelly and legs. I've also heard that the other species can generally have slightly different temperaments, however, I've only ever kept Xenopus Laevis frogs and as such can only comment on their behavior (the root of which can be summed up as "Feed me!").

Current Totals:

20 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank)
26 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [8 froglet, 18 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I wonder if that at nights, your Froggies reenact Hamlet with that Skull?
If you're quite, you may be able to see one froggie with the Skull in its Foot reciting
"Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him, Horatio, a fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy. He hath borne me on his back a thousand times, and now, how abhorred in my imagination it is!"

Probably not, but if they did then I am sure that you will end up being a very rich person!

Hmm, now that you mention it, they can be rather noisy at night, I'll have to keep my eye out for any Venetian merchants while I'm at it!

Be careful to feed them on time, otherwise, you may hear Shlock the Frog saying "The villainy you teach me I will execute, and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction."

Overly dramatic Frogs :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15