Raising Tadpoles (Day 43) - Why I Decided to Raise 82 Tadpoles

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 43

Fun Fact: I realized a few days ago that at the current rate of about 300 words/day, I'll have typed over 18,000 words by the end of day 60 for this project alone (keep in mind that, at the current rate of development for the smallest tadpoles, this series likely wont be ending until at least day 90 - making the total 27,000 words). Regardless of whether the Raising Tadpoles series ends at 60 or 90 or even 120 days, it will be firmly in the range for novella length by word count (9,000 to 40,000 words) and will dwarf any other writing project or series in sheer length. In fact, it already does, the longest project I completed prior to this was 6,000 words, though I have another that could surpass that one depended upon editing prior to completion. I may make an official final word count at the end out of curiosity.

180608_0018 - Copy.jpg

As to why I decided to dedicate so much time and energy to this project in both writing and rearing the tadpoles themselves? I decided to raise these tadpoles after I began rough planning for my comprehensive African Clawed Frog care guide for some time. I hadn't necessarily counted on eggs appearing, my female hasn't laid eggs in two years, however, once the eggs were there, it just didn't feel right to get rid of them. Out of the 82 eggs that developed, I've yet to lose a single one so far.

180608_0012 - Copy.jpg

I've had 16 years of experience in keeping them but have never actually raised tadpoles on my own until now. I'll fully admit to being apprehensive as the eggs began to develop, if I failed, there would be only one possible outcome - over 80 little lives would be lost. I'm sure some would guffaw at the notion and write them off as "just frogs" (as many sit at home with their furry friend who'll live half to one third as long.) But for me, I see 80 potential little ones who could be as much joy to someone's life as my frogs have in mine over the past 16 years.

180608_0009 - Copy.jpg

Next Day

Sort:  

The animals are so beutiful. Yiur post is very attractive. Thanks for sharing.

All animals are beautiful! Hooray for these lil guys!

You just made my night, never thought I would be so intrigued about a post about raising Tadpoles. Good Work ! Keep it up!

The most visually interesting transformations are yet to come!

Ouh Nice! When they are in the egg, breeding is the hardest part. Never forget it. I think i will buy some seamonkeys :)

I live in Africa and we used to catch those tadpoles as kids. The clawed toad is known as a Platanna in my country. Their very close to resemblance to fish in the tadpole stage is unusual among frogs and toads. Good luck with your novella, I look forward to more installments

Very knowledgeable! (They're even occasionally referred to as Platanna in the US depending on the source, though African Clawed Frog is much more common.) :)

This is wow, you must have done a lot of works rearing those toads, checking on them regularly inside water and you still have that many years experience. That's huge

With a bit of advance planning, you can reduce a chunk of the effort. Though I'll admit it can be quite a time consuming activity.

Every tadpole is a life and they are going to grow up to be big beautiful frogs, you have written so much about these tadpoles because it's the thing you are passionate about, I can note it through all the days I have read you, this is your thing.

Thank you for sharing this experienced with us, and how lives are formed, you are doing a great job!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31