Elegant Brodiaea - California native wildflower

in #nature6 years ago

The Elegant Brodiaea is a wild flower native to California and Oregon. It blooms late as the grass turns brown in northern California. It is edible and native americans ate the bulbs and corms.

IMG_3707.jpg

IMG_3705.jpg

IMG_3704.jpg

I found these beauties on a walk along Pleasanton Ridge.

IMG_0975.JPG

This is another example of the California Oak Savanna. Here's a lovely oak from today's walk.

IMG_0964.JPG

Finally we found this Northern Pacific Rattlesnake along the trail.

IMG_0827.JPG

This is my third post on local plants in my area. I am following advice from @mountainjewel to get to know the ecosystem around you. And having fun doing it!

Sort:  

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T02:30:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 123.50/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I didn't know they were edible! Thanks for the info :)

I don't know if I would eat them haha but maybe in a pinch

I like the third photograph particularly @steven-patrick.

What size are these plants? 😊

quite small haha 1-2 inches across

Beautiful purple flower, and the oak tree is majestic! The snake, I am not fond but I know it has its own purpose in the ecosystem!!!

Yes I am not fond of snakes either but he was the most interesting animal we saw. It was pretty warm so not many animals out. There were lots of swallows in the meadows. Some flycatchers, jays. Hawks and vultures gliding on the air currents. Ground squirrels.

Its cool to learn about these edible flowers. Have you eaten a Brodiaea ? If so what did it taste like ? I bet it was flowery ....

Awesome pictures of the giant tree and snake !

I passed on sampling the flowers. The snake is like perfect. He blends so well with the grass. Before we bothered him, he was stretched out straight and almost invisible.

Just wanted to let you know that @rentmoney featured you in their entry post for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

Not a snake you want to run into without realizing he is there. Enjoyed your photos and glad that you were featured.

Thanks for visiting and thanks again to @rentmoney

@rentmoney featured you in the Pay it Forward curation contest . That's what brought me to your post .

Thanks for visiting. @rentmoney and me go way back haha

Beautiful photos @steven-patrick, especially the one of the snake! Their ability to blend into their natural surroundings is so amazing to me! The flowers are so pretty as well. I'm with @mountainjewel ...it's great to learn more about your own back yard ecosystem :)

I found your post because @rent-money featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation Contest for which I am a judge. You should think about joining us too :)

Thanks for visiting my blog @lynncolyle1. Took another nature walk yesterday and got some new blogging content :) @rent-money is great, very community minded Steemian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28