Nature Break- Sometimes you Need it so you Don't Burn the House Down.

in #nature6 years ago

Hey there, Steemit!


Sorry about the lack of my posting lately. Since my last post, I have spent days attempting to clear out the hoarding in my room. Good news! I've moved about 300 GALLONS of clothes out. Bad news! Doesn't look like I've done shit.

So naturally, I had to take a step outside. Because the idea of performing some kind of controlled blaze in my room was starting to look like a really tempting strategy.

But I can't go out without taking you guys with me, especially since it had just rained!

I grabbed my macro lenses, took a breath, and decided to hunt down some incredibly tiny things for your viewing pleasure (and mine)!



Feast your eyes on the tiniest fly I have ever seen.

20180805_185129.jpg
Actually, it may be a gnat.

This is the only trouble with macro photography. It is near impossible to get a sense of scale. I can tell you with confidence that this guy was smaller than a grain of rice and not much bigger than a dust mote. I happened to spot him only because he was hopping on the branch. Or... maybe taking miniature flight? Hard to tell when they are that small.

20180805_185200.jpg

He was quite fine with me getting incredibly close. This dude was the most fearless of all the gnat kingdom. I was surprised that he let me take one photo. But nay, he allowed me to take several and move the leaf stem he was chillin' on in the process.

20180805_185204.jpg

At one point, he even stretched out his legs and was almost saying "check these bad boys out!". He was posing for me. Sadly... all of those came out blurry. Because Stitchy luck, that's why.

At one point he moved to the top of the leaf. I guess he thought it was his turn to check me out.

20180805_185728.jpg

So, of course, that one had to be blurry as well. I swear, I will practice until I get this perfect almost every time. Or at least, mostly in focus.

But I couldn't resist including the blurry, but very blatant stare he was giving me.

20180805_172413.jpg

And in closing, this raindrop precariously hanging from a very fuzzy flower bud!

I wish I knew what the genus of this plant is, but I honestly couldn't tell you. It appears to be some sort of creeping ivy. And... it smells bad, despite its beauty.




I didn't want to dump too many pictures, as I know it can be a bit boring after a while!

(Also, you know, stupid blurry captures don't make for the best content.)

But tomorrow, I see the urge to burn clothing already rising so perhaps I'll take you all for a walk and see what other images I might be able to drum up for you!

Happy Wednesday, guys. Keep on Steemin' on.




stitchhead.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-09T04:56:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 97.50/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

In all honesty, I'd way rather take a walk with you than throw out clothing. Your or mine :)

Thanks for the pictures. I really appreciate grain-of-rice sized flyies. I actually do!

excellent photography!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77