taking a nap on an ice floe

in #nature5 years ago

We are back on the Antarctic Peninsula after exploring the Falkland Islands and South Georgia, which have been a new experience for me and absolutely mind-blowing to say the least. However, the peninsula does have a special place in my heart, as it is where I spend quite a few months of the year exploring and learning from day after day. I am truly lucky to get to do this type of work and I never take it for granted.

Today, as we cruised around the Antarctic Sound at a landing site called Brown Bluff I found quite a large/fat female weddell seal taking a nap on a relatively small ice floe. As I approached her slowly she heard me talking about her to my passengers on board my small zodiac and as she briefly woke up, she raised her head, glared at me for a few moments before dropping her head on a piece of ice and closing her eyes.

It was a short but amazing encounter with the most southern living mammal in the world, which has the physical ability to dive to over 600m|1800ft for a duration close to an hour. They are beyond impressive from that physical aspect but they are also incredible adorable with their large puppy dog like eyes.


IMG_3654-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Thanks! I am happy you liked the photo of this adorably fat Weddell Seal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75