The moment you freeze... just for a split-second

in #nature6 years ago

I love and as of right this very moment, I truly miss interacting with these curious and massive apex predators of the Southern Ocean. Even though, as I am typing this post I am sitting on a beach drinking delicious Colombian coffee and eating local tropical fruit... yep, I know how that sounds... my life is a bit "tough" right now but I definitely have earned it over the previous few months of hard work, well, I believe I have...


BUT! The point of this post is to talk about that moment when you are happily watching an apex predator, whom is napping blissfully unaware of your presence and then... He opens his eyes and locks eyes with you! Within that split second of a moment your eyes tend to open a tad wider and you breath in a long slow breathe in awe, also due to you being a tad bit intimidated by such a huge predator. Their gaze is beyond overwhelming and does indeed give you bit of a shiver throughout your being, especially, if it is your first time locking eyes with a 3m|9ft Leopard Seal.


IMG_3431.jpg
A male Leopard seal locking eyes with me
Click image to view full size


However, don't be too concerned, as they are not intimidated and when they are happily resting on an ice flow, like this big guy, they are pose zero threat. This is as long as you give the animal some respect and space to let it continue to nap in peace and comfort. What you are left with is a great photo opportunity and an unforgettable and quite intimate moment with one hell of a beautiful/intimidating apex predator.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website if you are interested in purchasing any of my prints!!!
Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Ok, first of all. Colombian coffee in the beach....Can we be best friends? lol! And second, It must be amazing to be around these animals. Enjoy the sun, you'll be back to the ice in no time :)

hahaha! of course we can be! it is mind-blowing and very humbling to be around animals like this. I am no rush to leave the warm, sunny Colombian beach right now..

I am glad that you are enjoying your coffee and tropical fruits, that you enjoy the tranquility and regosijo of being with yourself, those are your Divine merits.
It's wonderful to be able to do that, enjoy.

I understand your joy of being able to see a predator so close, ha ha ha, but internally scared because you do not know the reaction of such a big and strong animal. I love what you have transmitted with your publication. Thank you

Aw. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment. It means the world to me that you enjoyed it. I agree that you need to take some time for yourself and simply breath and ground yourself. To spend time with animals like that definitely effects you on levels you can't quite understand but it does change you ever so slightly over time the more you do it

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Hola @thomasjmitchell
Buen Provecho y que disfrutes ese rico café Colombiano.
Debe ser una NOTA demasiado bella estar al frente e un Leopardo Marino. Grandes depredadores pero así deben ser para mantener ese cuerpo monumental.
Se alimentan desde el Krill hasta crías de Lobos marinos.
Waaaooooo..... Puede que a un humano también. Así que corre.
Aquí envío uno simpático. jajajajaja
Saludos y Gracias por el artículo

me gusta el rico cafe Colombiano. es un bonita lugar para vivir. Mucho Gracias!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11