What a day on the water

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

My daily job at the moment keeps me on the water, which is awesome but not in the same capacity as I have been before as a guide around whales. I basically operate a boat for a company that inspects commercial fishing vessels ensuring they have all the appropriate safety gear. This is so that everyone stays safe on the water and gets to go home at the end of everyday.


IMG_0032.jpg
By far one of my favourite angles to take photos of these animals. Just before they break the surface to exhale & you can see the water bend around their head
Click image to view full size


However, even though I don't get to stop and just look for wildlife and especially whales - it does happen from time to time. Today was a clear and awesome example of that. We headed off and BAM a pod of Bigg's Orca (mammal hunters), which are known as the T101s and consist of 4 individual orca. Four male orca and their mum.


!steemitworldmap 48.851053 lat -123.372414 long T101s May 7, 2018 d3scr

IMG_0038.jpg
One of the big fellows surfacing near my vessel
Click image to view full size

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

what a wonderful take

it was a wonderful encounter. he came so close to me and slowed down to investigate me. simply mind blowing! 😊😊😊

and thank you too

Beautifull photography I really like it

The work that is done in the sea is magnificent, not only do you have the opportunity to explore another world but to capture everything you see. Great ;)

Thank you! I am really lucky to do what I get to do

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thomasjmitchell
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-a-day-on-the-water


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Fine pix and experience but I must confess, is a maximum risk too.

Wow! Seeing whales in the ocean is such a special experience! I haven’t been that close, but they take your breath away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71