My tomato plants are soon ready for harvest + the state of Steem these days

in #nature6 years ago

It's just over 3 months since I planted the tomato seeds this year, and we're finally starting to get close to harvest time. It seems almost crazy that it was 50cm of snow covering the ground at that time, while we are having 30C+ weather outside the last few weeks.

It's safe to say that things are very different due to this, but I'm not going to complain, because I much prefer hot summer than a freezing spring filled with snow.

DSC_0353.JPG

My tomato plants have grown to a decent size. Unfortunately none of the fruits are ready/red yet.

Speaking of different; Steem and Steemit feels a bit different for me as well, compared to just 3 months ago. I'm sure it has a lot to do with the fact that I've been less active during the last three months, but it also feels like a lot of the veterans who have been blogging regularly for over a year has started to disappear.

On one hand, it might simply be summer fatigue where people don't really want to spent as much time online as in the winter. The other obvious reason is the low value of Steem and SBD, which means less money for authors. I think this is a great opportunity for us to blog and make a lot of Steem while there is little competition, but that's something I have already been writing about two weeks ago.

imageedit_2_9404819209.jpg

We have been seeing a nice uptrend in the value in the last 24 hours, so I guess things could soon become a lot more crowded in here. That's a good thing, but the higher value still seems fragile to me when we consider the fact that the overall crypto market is very bearish.

What do you guys think about all of this? Am I right in the assumption that we've lost a good amount of authors who produced good content here? Or am I just imagining it? I would love to hear what everyone else think of this matter, especially if you have any other theories as to why Steem feels to empty lately.

Sort:  

I guess it is easy to get burned out writing posts. People also have a false expectation that they are going to earn a lot of money, which is unrealistic. Perhaps people are too focused on Steemit, where they should be more focused on learning about blockchain and appreciate the underlying very fast tech that is the Steem blockchain. The crypto sphere is also very cyclica,l and I have a ​ feeling we can get a new boom cycle soon.

Burnout is probably a bigger problem than most people give it credit for, and I'm sure it hits people a lot faster now that the rewards are lower than they are used to.

I agree on the point you are making in regard to learning about the underlying blockchain aspect of Steem, and I see so many people around here who have very little knowledge about how much more Steem is than just Steemit!

l and I have a ​ feeling we can get a new boom cycle soon.

I hope you are right. I'm very confident that the crypto markets will rise up to a new all time high sooner or later, but I'm getting a bit tired of the long correction these days.

You planted them indoors first? I just got some tomato plants the other day. Hopefully I get some tomatoes in the next month.

I'm not sure what is going on with Steem but the rise is nice. I might use the kr tag today to see if the Koreans know something.

Yes, I planted them indoors where they stayed for almost two months. Once it's 5C+ at night, I will confident that it's safe to put them out.

Did you learn anything from the Koreans about what's going on with Steem these days?

That's a lot of work. Impressive.

The only thing I got from the Koreans was someone requested a bot to tell me to stop.
https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@mysearchisover/3-000-steem-voting-power-2-weeks-of-delegations-goodbye-23-steem-pump-175

Oh, that's not the best response! :P

I hope that you will have gushing red tomato harvest this year:)
You are right, there are many missing authors cases here in recent months... But I wouldn't worry about that as they will return sooner or latter...
And last 24 hrs has seen an increase in steem prize but it's too early to draw conclusions.

Yeah, they will most probably be back once we're seeing $5+ for Steem again. And I bet they will all regret not having blogged while it was lower, just like the last time this happened!

Tomatoes are tasty to eat.they add essential nutrients in our daily diet..this plant is very beautiful.I had tomato plant in my house but unfortunately it burnt.

Yeah, they are a great vegetable! It's too bad that it god burnt! If it makes you feel any better; I started out with 6 of them, but only have a few left. Most of them died due to being burned as well ;) Hehe

Your tomato plant looks fresh and healthy. I love gardening also. Last year I grow huge tomato in my roof top garden. Thanks @valth.

Oh, that's cool! Thanks for stopping by

As for me, as for author of original and quality content, I experience a lack of attention from the beginning (which was this year in March).
And it does not metter if I wrote a huge researching results or share some deep thought - the picture stay the same.
I tried some kind of shamanism - put the names of recommended communities into tags, but no luck.
I wonder, how it will be possible to grow the Steemit community, if most part of whales are visiting each other?
I wrote posts, left comments and communicate with steemians, but those great young authors I've met also grow slowly. Much more slowly, than their content deserves.
As a new member of Steemit blockchain, for now I perceive it only as a social platform, not the way of getting some money

It might be different once Hivemind is released, because right now it's next to impossible to grow a blog from nothing. The only way to do it is to work really hard for a long time, and eventually it will pay off.

As a new member of Steemit blockchain, for now I perceive it only as a social platform, not the way of getting some money

That's probably a good way to look at it. Steem is not really a place where everyone can join and get hundreds of dollars for doing nothing, like some people believe.

For some posts I do researches, and spent hours to wright a good article. I don't think, that it can be called "doing nothing".
I'm not talking about hundreds dollars... I am talking about attention.
I see in comments, that lots of older Steemit members are ready to give me upvote, if I will pay... But in the same time, it is not guaranteed that some of them will read what I have wrote.

My purpose here is not money. I still perceive Steemit as an open-minded community... but it can be illusion, some kind of utopia.

You asked of what happened with Steemit and here is my oppinion - nothing more.
Thank you, @valth, for creating such safe place for open discussion.

Nice planting. I like tomatos. I am sharing just one benifit of tomatos.
According to studies, tomatoes contain large amounts of the antioxidant lycopene, that is effective in lowering the risk of cancer, especially lung, stomach and prostrate cancers.

@Thanks! Yeah, tomatoes are really healthy and good ;)

Yes, I agree with you, because my friend also like that. When I asked him why he was rarely active in Steemit, he said the price of SBD is dropped. So he is rarely active in STEEMIT.
I like your blog.
Have a good day @valth

I can see why some people are scared away because of the low price, but trust me, your friend will regret it when Steem and SBD goes a lot higher again! Now is a good time to get a lot of Steem since there is little competition. Have a good day yourself :)

Yes, I agree with you, while STEEMIT is more than that. There are other advantages, namely we can communicate with new friends.
Thanks my friend.

That's definitely one of the best things about this blockchain ;)

I am glad to use this blockchain my friend.

That makes two of us!

Yes my friend, thats true.

I'm seeing a lot of churn with some people taking breaks and others I'd not know about before 'returning'. Still a lot of good stuff on here overall.

30C+
Try 40.5C (including heat index) in my neck of the woods.

Damn, I'd rather not try that to be honest. 30C is still way to hot for me!

I was just talking with a colleague from Dubai. They've got us all beat at 48 to 50C and a high relative humidity right now.

Ouch, that sounds like a terrible place to be right now. I guess it really is time for me to stop complaining about the heat here on Norway, because it seems to be rather chilly compared to some other places.

I think the same, the rewards lately have not been as big as in the past three months, likewise I will keep posting on the platform because you do not have to lose your hope, by the way your plant looks very good hopefully reap many fruits

Thanks, I hope it will be full of tomatoes soon ;) And I agree with you, we should not lose our hope just yet; it will definitely bounce back up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13