Which animals got photographed by the wildlife cameras?

in #nature5 years ago

I put out five wildlife cameras clos to my house about two weeks ago, hoping to get some cool photos or footage of some wild animals that visited my garden at night time. You can read the original post here if you want to check out the details, and this post will be about the results.

Unfortunately the results are far from as excited as I was hoping for! I got a total of two wild animals on the cameras, one being a great tit (Parus major), and the other being a roe deer (Capreolus capreolus), both being very common species here in Norway.

a (47).JPG

The great tit look like its trying to attack the camera or something, which is an interesting behavior. I wonder if he is provoked by the lights on the camera, or if it's something else that got his attention. It's not too surprising that we got one of these on the camera, since my garden seem to be filled with them, and I see them every single day.

roedeer.gif

The roe deer is clearly a male (you can tell from his antlers). but unfortunately the video didn't really turn out to show us a lot of details, which is very typical of my experience with wildlife cameras in general. But we still got a 2 second video of it! It's cool to see that a roe deer visited my garden at the evening, and the time stamp on the video is just after 8PM, so it's not like it was even the middle of the night when he stopped by.

a (11).JPG

And the third and final animal that visited the camera trap was a familiar sight. She was obviously very curious about the cameras, so I have like a hundred photos of her sniffing around in the area close to them.

Unfortunately we didn't get any cool animals, like the lynx that @janusface requested in the comment section on the previous post about the camera traps. But maybe next time?


What the mounted wildlife cameras look like when capturing footage.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Dogs can sometimes go on rampet

Yep, they sure can!

Nice to see your four-legged favorite, @Valth .
He has grown considerably.

Perhaps he became even more mischievous and funny.
I also liked the video with the ROE deer.
At least someone comes to visit at night.

It is always nice to see the guests who visited you at night ))

And the tit is really huge.

Yep, Wilma is pretty big by now! And she's definitely mischievous.

And the tit is really huge.

Hehe, these are actually very small (10cm), but it's just really close to the camera :P

I am sorry you were a bit disappointed with the results but it is still cool to have at least some "wildlife traffic" captured ;) Are you going to keep the cameras on the same spots?

At least it was better than nothing. I was really hoping for a fox or badger, or something like that. The cameras has been returned to the university, so I can't play around with them anymore :( I'm almost tempted to buy one for myself, but a decent one is $100+, so it's a bit expensive really.

Oh yeah, a badger would be awesome! I haven´t seen one in its natural environment yet, even though we have them here in the Czech Republic too. Let´s hope Steem will allow you to get one of those cameras for yourself soon ;)

Oh really? I have seen them lots of times here in Norway, but I'm not sure if you would classify it as in their natural environment, since it has always been in the city or close to housing areas. But they tend to like these areas where they can scavenge on food we humans throw away.

Let´s hope Steem will allow you to get one of those cameras for yourself soon ;)

Hehe, that would be great. I will definitely get one if Steem ever goes on a bullrun again, but I'm not going to be cashing out much as long as the value is as low as it is right now. I prefer to wait, because I have high hopes in this blockchain.

Kan det vera ei kjøtmeis @Valth
Kjøtmeisa er gul og svart, og når fuglen kjem nær objektivet vil fuglen sjå stor ut.

Jepp, jeg tror også det er kjøttmeis som "angriper" kameraet. Tror ikke det er noen andre fugler som har sort stripe på gult bryst som denne.

From the video image he looks running and it seems he knows the camera that you put on the tree, so he immediately turns around in another direction.😂

Yeah, I guess it looks like that. The camera emits a small light, so I'm sure that he saw it.

Maybe you can design something so he can come closer to the camera.

That would be a good idea, but unfortunately I had to return the wildlife camera to the university, so I can't try any more :(

It happens some times a person do not successful in one attempt no problem good luck for next time .

Yep, that's true :)

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.182 which ranks you at #852 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 857).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04