Beautiful British Columbia: Cascade Falls Regional Park

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I recently saw a post by Mickey Beaves (@mickeybeaves) that shows a photo and a video of Cascade Falls, an impressive waterfall in British Columbia. I was a little ashamed and embarrassed to discover this waterfall that I had never heard about, because it is located only 15 kilometres north of Lougheed Highway, on which I drive very often.

So, I decided to go there and make my own post about Cascade Falls.


cascade_falls_01.png

[Part of the text below is borrowed from a panel in the park and from the park website.


Cascade Falls Regional Park


Cascade Falls Regional Park is a 22 hectare (54 acres) park featuring lush rain forests, scenic waterfalls and magnificent pools.


cascade_falls_02.png

From the parking lot, to access the waterfall, there is a steep 250 metre trail ...


cascade_falls_03.png

... which includes 50 stairs ...


cascade_falls_04.png

... until you reach a platform and a suspension bridge ...


cascade_falls_05.png

... from which you have an impressive view of the waterfall that spills over the edge of a cliff plummeting 30 metres into a large emerald pool.


cascade_falls_06.png

From here, Cascade Creek runs into a series of smaller falls within a deeply incised gorge as it drops an additional 18 metres ...


cascade_falls_07.png

... before emptying into the tranquil lower pools.


cascade_falls_08.png


When I was on the suspension bridge, I noticed two women that were sunbathing near the creek.


cascade_falls_09.png


Here is another view of Cascade Falls.


cascade_falls_10.png

If you like this post, I would recommend that you watch the excellent video posted on Dtube by @mickeybeaves.

Sort:  

This post is very precise and easy to understand. I really enjoyed these pictures.

Sure, but it is NOT a good reason to upvote your own comment at 100% !!!

nature is amazing

I have visited BC a few times in my life but I somehow missed this beautiful park. The last time I was in BC I visited Vancouver Island. Beuatiful place too.

I am curious about your adventure, show me sir @vcelier

Didn't you see the pictures I have shown of Cascade Falls Regional Park? What else do you want me to show you.

I was excited to finally see Hope BC last year as it was the setting of First Blood the first Rambo movie.

Sure, but the municipality of Hope is located 90 km away from Cascade Falls Regional Park.


The current state of the gas station that served as a filming location for First Blood
source: https://www.bcliving.ca/chasing-rambo-in-hope-bc

The locations should be preserved as historic sites lol

Wow, Nice Photography and great moment..

This looks incredible!!! I will have to add this as a stop on my eventual trip to BC. My partner and I want to visit Alberta and British Columbia and do a full tour. As soon as she saw the falls she said they look just like the one we saw on our trip to the Dominican. We are big fans of hiking and walking around so the trail looks perfect. Are you able to get in the water under the falls or is it blocked off somehow?

Stunning area! the best and maximum beautiful things inside the global cannot be seen or maybe touched - they have to be felt with the coronary heart. the vicinity is incredible, and the photos are the first rate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99