A Hawk and A Blue Jay on a Freezing Winter Day!

in #nature5 years ago (edited)


IMG_3210 (2).JPG

This beautiful bird sat on our back fence surveying the lay of the land and perhaps looking for some breakfast.
I believe it is a hawk of some sort, but I don't know it's name!
@keithboone do you know?


Happily, I was able to capture a photo of it before it flew away!


IMG_3216.JPG


This blue jay was eating some black oil sunflower seeds from my bird feeder.


IMG_3217.JPG


We are currently experiencing a blast of cold air in the Dallas, Texas area. We woke up to 23 degrees F with winds out of the north making it feel much colder.
I have many friends that will say this isn't very cold compared to 0 degrees F or less!
You are correct; but for us warm blooded Texans, it's cold!


Our dog Pepper seems to love these cold temps.
She doesn't have a thick coat of fur since she is part border collie and part labrador, but she does have her winter coat with some extra fur right now.


She does want to sleep inside at night in her kennel, but doesn't mind the temps being below 32 in the daytime!
She just runs around and chases birds and squirrels!


Pepper1.JPG


April 2017 photo


Pepper2.JPG


July 2015 photo


These are some pics of her during warmer days!
I'm too warm and cozy in my house to go back out and take her photo today!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


March 4, 2019
All original photos taken on my Canon PowerShot SX720 or my iPhone

Sort:  

It's a Coopers Hawk, I think @violetmed. Of course, I could always be wrong!! :)

I have always loved Bluejays although they seemed more aggressive in the Northeast than here in Washington DC.

Such a sweet looking baby! 💖

We are in the 30's today. oh, my goodness!! We are cold!! Brrrr!!

!tip

It does look like a Coopers Hawk. Thank you!

My pleasure!

What a beautiful look! Your dog is tender. I love that last picture. I imagine your house, not only full of seeds for birds, flowers for butterflies, but also a warm place for your dog. God bless your home, @violetmed!

Thank you, you are so kind! Sending you God’s Blessings also!

Howdy violetmed! man, that is a beautiful shot of that hawk! And also the photos of Pepper are great, he looks like a wonderful dog!

Beautiful pictures, have a wonderful day💙

Thank you!

You are welcome

How cool you got to see a Hawk and I love the blue Jay shots they are my favorite bird :)

Lovely photos. Nice capture to get a photo of a hawk. Pepper is a handsome dog. Did he find any 4 leaf clovers? 😊

thank you and maybe so!

Hi,

Beautiful birds. I miss the blue jay. We get different kinds of birds here and yes like you said we have water birds and the DMZ is a sort of sanctuary on the other hand it is filled with land mines. There may possibly be Siberian tigers wandering the DMZ it should really be a protected area. I really hoped for some change in the North Korean situation. I'm glad your prayers are still there. The whole peninsula has been chocked up in toxic dust. Nobody is really in a good mood and on top of that the new school year started. Everything is so messed up that it is a good opportunity to pray.

My youngest son was the strongest influence in my absence of posting or activity on the blockchain here. He said he wanted me to stop all blog activity. I told him I will stop for one week. I think it has been three weeks now. I went through some withdrawal symptoms. I spent too much of my life online and for a while I need a break. Thanks for your support and encouragement. I continue to pray for you and your family.

“Child,' said the Lion, 'I am telling you your story, not hers. No one is told any story but their own.” (The Horse and His Boy) CS Lewis

Oh goodness, well they left off the part about the land mines in the story! The dictator in North Korea could really use Jesus in his life! Tell your youngest you just want to post your new cartoon stick character adventures! I will now say more prayers for you and your family! Believe me my immediate family and a few other family members always could use a few extra prayers for guidance and direction for the next few months and years of our lives!! Good to hear from you!! Also my preacher loves to quote CS Lewis and the Narnia book series. :)

🎁 Hi @violetmed! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Flirting With Life Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.4$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25