A Planting Wagon, Pentas and Red Salvia

in #nature6 years ago

Currently Happening in My Yard


wagon4.jpg


A begonia that I am transplanting from one flowerbed to another!


wagon3.jpg


This old children's wagon comes in handy to move my plants, pots and soil around my yard!


wagon1.jpg


We bought this wagon for our kids about 26 years ago and used it many times at the State Fair of Texas and Six Flags Over Texas and just taking walks around the block.
The original high sides on it deteriorated and we took them off and it became my garden toting wagon!


Of course my hubby bought a larger garden cart to use for heavier stuff a few years ago, but this little wagon has been well worth the money we paid for it!


PentasNew.jpg


I still have 4 more of these pentas to plant on another day.
They make such a nice plant for butterflies and bees and I love red flowers!


RedSalvia1.jpg


I planted 3 pots of these red salvias today!
Yes, more red flowers, because I told you they are my favorite and these are also good nectaring flowers for butterflies and bees!


RedSalvia2.jpg


Hope you have a Blessed Day and Weekend!


violetmed150.jpg


July 13, 2018
All original photos taken by me

Sort:  

It is way too hot to be outside working in the garden. It is even hotter in Texas. The wagon reminds me when I was a kid in the 70s. My brother and I watched the Little Rascals and pretty much thought we could do the same thing they did.

We opened a summer carnival in our back yard. We went around the neighborhood shouting to every house for the kids to come out to our carnival and they came. Kids paid us a nickel for a ride in the wagon up and down some mounds. We called it a roller coaster. We made lemonade and sold it for ten cents a glass. When we were finished we walked to down to the new mini mall and bought a pack of "Big League Chew" and some gum balls. Altogether we made 55 cents and split among four of us.

Those wagons mean a lot to kids. Some kids can even time travel into the future riding a wagon.

As usual your garden is looking great. We have a family of four stray kittens and a mommy cat living in our garden. They hide in the old wooden steps. The mom is quite protective. I took some pictures over the past couple weeks and planned to share them in a post but still too busy at the end of the semester to put up a proper post.

I love that story! 55 cents and you guys were probably super happy about it! We should start a tag called childhood-memories or something like that. You should use the above story for the first post about it! Daniel and his sister had a make believe land in our backyard - Daniel had made up a name for it - I won't ruin it for him - haha, maybe we can get him to write about it. My friends and I pretended all the time we were these 3 girl characters from these books we checked out from our school library and I have many other fond childhood memories! Love Calvin and Hobbes! Anyway, save the pictures and share them when you get a chance!

I always leave your blog with the desire to have a house with a garden where I can plant a lot of flowers where the butterflies visit me, violetmed. I think I see your garden and I love it. A fraternal embrace

Haha, thank you! It was really hot and humid to be out in the yard planting today! Sending you a hug back!

Mi abuela siempre decía que solo las manos de un ángel pueden poner las plantas hermosas y por lo visto tu las tienes, @violetmed. Se nota que cuidas de ellas como si fueran tus hijas. Te felicito.:)

Gracias por sus amables palabras @nohebd y por visitar mi blog hoy.

I notice that the earth is quite dark, @violetmed? Does that mean it's more fertile? Do you have a particular subscription for it? Thank you for sharing!

Our soil has lots of clay in it that makes it quite dark and very hard to dig in! We add organic compost and mix it in with our soil. The soil in my pots is usually also organic compost potting soil.

Cool use of the cart great to see it still has a use :)

Beautiful flowers

tip!

Thank you!

Hello Violetmed
Thank you for sharing. Really beautiful photography and great efforts to make this happen. I appreciate.
Thanks.

What a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing it.

Nice shots.. @violetmed those pictures quality are very sharp...

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 3.82$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

aweome photography mam..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30