Gray Hairstreak Butterfly on Mona Lavender

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

My Mona Lavender plants barely have any flowers, but I spied this pretty little gray hairstreak butterfly on a bloom.


GrayHairstreak2.jpg


Grey Hairstreak (Strymon melinus) has a wingspan of .75 to 1.5 inches.
There are many host plants that the female butterflies will lay their eggs on.


MonaLav2.jpg


Here are a couple of photos of just the flowers.


MonaLav1.jpg


Here is a photo of how beautiful mona lavender is when it is in full bloom!


Monalavender2.jpeg
Source


Mine never looked quite this beautiful!
I guess that will be my goal for next year!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


July 11, 2018
All original photos taken by me on my iPhone 8 Plus except for the photo of the large pot of flowering Mona Lavender.

Sort:  

I really like your macro photos better than the pot photo.

This is the flower I see in my mind's eye:


violet.jpg

I finished the summer camp book but have some things to resolve by the end of the semester. Thank you again for your prayers. This summer I will be teaching a small class of ten students. The Board of education gave us a large budget and we have to spend it wisely. At the same time I have a Bible camp next weekend. I need grace.

Yes, the flower is quite pretty! Well, that will be nice to only have 10 students! I say, pray to remember you do have Grace when you remember to keep God in your mind and heart every day. I just pray every day I’m in a classroom to help me say or do the right thing! I wish I could pray out loud with the students, but our Supreme Court took care of that! Anyway, I will keep you in my daily prayers!

Thank you ♥

A good contrast between your flowers and the butterfly, @violetmed. The more flowers you have in your garden, the more butterfly species will be visiting you and making a home in your garden. Greetings beautiful lady.

Thank you for your kind words!

You will see that with those blessed hands of yours, your bushes will grow and give many beautiful flowers, @violetmed. Nature will do its work and you will do the rest with your dedication. May God bless you!

Thank you!

What a beautiful butterfly, @violetmed and what beautiful flowers. They have a strange capacity. It seems to belong to the family of orchids (Orchidaceae). I'm always pleasantly surprised by your garden. Blessings to you.

Thank you!

Nice captured... A bit far from the first shot with butterfly... Maybe thought if you move close it's might likely go away lol.. I thought same until I later became butterfly friend hehehe.. I usually call this type of photo action shots Cox it's a great captured..

Good works @violetmed about having such beautiful bunch flower...you can grow such as well.

Beautiful flowers. More beautiful when it has blossom fully.

Oh God make my life to blossom so it will be more beautiful

Amen to that!

Beautiful flowers and butterflies. I have never been a fan of lavender but your plant is gorgeous!

Wonderful - butterflies are very gentle ... !

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.86$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73