It's Still Fall in Texas for TreeTuesday!

in #nature5 years ago (edited)


Our fall leaves in my city and the surrounding Dallas, Texas area just showed up bold and pretty about 4 days ago!
(#TreeTuesday started by @old-guy-photos just for fun!)

YellowLeaves2.jpg


This oak tree is one I spied on my walk yesterday!
I just wanted to focus on all of the different shades of red, orange and yellow leaves.


YellowLeaves1.jpg


RedOak1.jpg


This is my Red Oak that my son and I planted with his Cub Scout Den when he was 6 years old!
We planted the acorn in a large pot and there it stayed for about 10-12 years.
The poor tree was stunted from being in a pot!


Anyway, when we had to cut down a silver leaf maple tree that was at the end of it's life in our yard; that opened up a spot for this red oak to be planted on the corner of our property on one of our side yards.


RedOak2.jpg


So this tree is now about 18 feet tall and 22 years old now and has happily been putting down roots and is a great tree for providing shade and shelter for the neighborhood squirrels and birds.
Also more oxygen for animals and people. :)
If I had more land, space I would plant several trees a year!


RedOak3.jpg


So sorry if these photos took a long time to upload on your computer or phone, but I just didn't want to make them smaller and leave off some details I wanted in these photos!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus
November 27, 2018

(#TreeTuesday started by @old-guy-photos just for fun!)

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

So nice colors around this time of the year.
Thanks for sharing.

Looks like some beautiful Texas foliage!

Lovely colours... not so much of that left around here! Very nice.

Autumn has arrived there too I see. Beautiful photos!

I would really love a Japanese Red Maple in my yard, but apparently I would have to plant it where it is grows under the shade of a larger tree or structure here in Texas where our summer temps get
above 100 F!
"This beautiful maple is an extraordinary, showy small tree. It needs to be planted under the shade of a larger main tree or structure. Its leaf color ranges from brilliant red to purple in the fall." Source

That is a great story and a cool memento to remember those memories of planting it! A real win-win!

Wonderful shots... I always enjoy photos of fall colours as we don't have it here. I'm so glad your red oak is now grounded (lol) and growing happily! I live in an apartment or I would love to grow some trees around the house... Cheers, have a happy day!! :)

Thank you and you too!

Oh, such beautiful color for Dallas!!! I just love the fall as it gives it so much color and more beauty than it already has!

The photos loaded fine! Thanks for sharing!

!tip

Thank you!

Always a pleasure!

Good job keeping the red oak tree around until a spot opened up. I have grown trees from seed that are now 50 years old. Ran out of room like you years ago. :-)

That’s cool that you have grown trees from seed!

Very rewarding if you live long enough in the same place. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85