Queen Day in The Butterfly House

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


It was very humid when I was volunteering at the butterfly house today, thanks to rain overnight and more forecast for today.
There were about 10 queen butterflies just flying all over the butterfly house.

image


image


image


image


This queen butterfly had only emerged about 45 minutes before this photo.
Note the empty chrysalis right beside it!
This is the chrysalis box where many different chrysalises are pinned up once a week in order to provide more butterflies for the butterfly house.
These chrysalises are purchased from a company that has many different kinds of butterflies and caterpillars and collects the chrysalises in order to sell them.
We try to educate the people that come through the butterfly house on how to attract butterflies to their yards and increase the population of butterflies.


image


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


August 9, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

I'm always impressed with the close-ups you get of the butterflies with your phone @violetmed. Do they land on you very often? 😊

Not very often. Sometimes they might land on my hat or shoulder, thinking it's a place to rest. We check our hats to make sure they don't "hitchhike" out of the butterfly house! Only a few species of butterflies will land on people on purpose because they like the salt on people's skin. I get the best photos when they are feeding on the flowers or nectaring as it is called.

Only a few species of butterflies will land on people on purpose because they like the salt on people's skin.

That's interesting @violetmed. I had no idea it was species specific. 😊

Lovely ladies :) I saw a yellow butterfly today. I have been paying attention lately haha I think a Western Tiger Swallowtail but couldn't catch up with it :(

Hello dear @violetmed what a coincidence!!my today's post also on a beautiful butterfly
Do visit my blog dear. I hope you will be like my photos also 😊 I like your photography it's mind-blowing 👍 thanks

I don't see as many butterflies as years gone by. Guess I should plant things that attract them. Is there one plant that you can suggest to start things off? :-)

Yes, parsley(the curly variety) and/or dill. Those are the hosts for swallowtail caterpillars! Plant some zinnias in a sunny spot or other flowers that are good for the butterflies to get nectar from.

fabulous shots it must be so cool visitng the Butterfly house so often and seeing the beauty of them

Yes, I do enjoy it, especially when I get a few minutes to myself to just enjoy and take a few photos.

I like it when you take those pictures of the butterflies, they look so close, @violetmed. I remember when I was a child that sometimes I would grab them and they would leave a trail of dust on my fingers. They're like velvet!!

Yes, their wings are very fragile. We ask all of the visitors to the butterfly house to not touch the butterflies! We have a box of wings of the butterflies that have died, that children and adults can touch and hold.

Wow dear you are true nature lovers 😊 great

  • @violetmed Dear friend it's amazing how you love it and how dedicated you are to it. Congratulations on your work to take these great pictures for everyone. I learn a lot about the types of butterflies in your publications. Because you always give us a very detailed general explanation. About where they're from, their names and what they like to do.

  • Thank you for the spectacular photos showing us those wonderful colors of them. They are a work of art and wonder of our beautiful nature. Beautiful butterflies queens with beautiful details and mix of colors. It's imprecise. Thank you for the beautiful pictures, dear friend. Have a good night's rest on this wonderful night. A big hug.

How can you imagine that from a worm a beauty like this will come out! Nature invites us to believe in change! In perfection because it exists. Have a good night. Have a good night.

mam after few days i have seen your blog..awesome photography and nice picture..
i like butterfly thanks for share..

I am speechless before such beauty! They are majestic in their colors. They've really got the name right on them. Believe it or not, with your publications I have learned something about butterflies and some of their names. not all of them. hahahahahaha. Thank you very much, @violetmed. I embrace you

So glad you are enjoying my posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30