Tree with Hollowed Cavity for TreeTuesday

in #nature6 years ago


TreeBethany.JPG


This tree is at a park near my house.


TreeBethany1.JPG


Does anyone know what kind of tree it is?
I live in the northern part of the state of Texas.
There are several of these trees in this park.


TreeBethany2.JPG


I thought the hollowed out space in the trunk is interesting!
Did lightning strike it a some point or did a limb break off this tree in a storm?
Did bugs eat into the bark to cause this?


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


June 5, 2018
All original photos taken on my Canon PowerShot

Sort:  

Greetings, @violetmed. The image of the tree hollow reminded me of a tree I saw a few years ago and they told me it was called "Palo Santo", whose scientific name is "Bulnesia sarmientoi" . I'm not sure it's the same as your photographic capture, but I wanted to put it to your consideration.

We can't know this tree's story, unfortunately. I hope you get your answer about it's species. I actually downloaded an app called "Garden Answers" on which you take pictures of a plant or even a leaf and it searches through a database to match it with other pictures of plants that have been identified. If I don't know a plant species, I always try the app and it works about half the time. Definitely worth a free upload from the app store:) Good Luck!

Wow I would think they would inspect that and cut it down. That just seems like it is apt to fall!

Who does not like to see the natural scene. Everyone wants to visit the beautiful places of the world. We have become mechanical to see ourselves the buildings of the brick-cement-stone buildings around us. Difficulty in nesting the house. So maybe our mechanical city, where there is a lot of opportunities, as well as our sightseeing. Because we are naturally comfortable. Now we do not go to enjoy the wonderful landscapes at any place of trouble, where we have to face many problems. And that is why we go beyond our sights, some of the wonderful places in the world.

Nice pictures as usual but what could be responsible for that cavity or is it an abnormal growth.

This Tress are amazing madam.

You just planted 0.77 tree(s)!


Thanks to @violetmed

We have planted already 16205.40 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25670.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.97$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81