Asian Multicolored Lady Beetle

in #nature6 years ago

The Asian Multicolored Lady Beetles are native to Asia and were imported to the U.S. to control aphids and other soft bodied insects that were destroying orchards and crops. You can also find them in gardens.

These beetles can be found in red, orange and tan colors. The amount of black spots on them vary and the spots come in different patterns. Some do not have any spots at all. If you look on their heads, you will see either a "w" or "m" shape depending on the angle you look at it. This is an identifying mark which distinguishes them from other lady beetles.

When the weather turns cold, these Asian Lady Beetles try to get into homes and buildings to overwinter. They will bite and leave a foul smelling yellow fluid behind, but they will not lay eggs inside.

They are beneficial insects and have cut down on the use of pesticides.

Thanks for looking!

Information Source: ars.usda.gov, creaturecontrol.net

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

So glad to see you posting again Whatisnew! 🤗 I have to admit that I was worried so I peeked at your comments last week. Sorry to be snoopy. 🙇 I hope that your brother is feeling better and that his wife is recovering well following her surgery. 💙

Lovely photos of the beetles and thanks for the info! I never knew that they were deliberately brought into the US.

Happy Wednesday sweet lady! I hope you have nothing but huge laughs and a nice relaxing day! HUGS!!

You are such a dear, sweet friend brisby! Thanks for your concern. Hugs! No apologies necessary. You did some good detective work. And thanks for the well wishes for my brother and SIL. They are slowly improving thank goodness and I have to take my brother for one more test on Friday morning.

I am so happy that you can learn something from my posts and glad that you enjoyed it. : )

HAHA! I wish today was fun and relaxing but it was not mean to be. I wrote about it in my freewrite. I hope that you are doing well brisby and wishing you a great week. Sending you many HUGS! : )

These are sure cute little beetles so brightly colored
really stand out against the green leaves!
Welcome back ❤ @whatisnew!! You were missed :-)

They sure did stand out on those leaves and I was so happy to get clear photos.
Thanks for the warm welcome back my friend @shasta! You are so sweet and I missed you too!!! HUGS!!!

that cute little bug. : )

That cute little bug can bite. : ) Thanks for stopping by my friend. : )

This lady beetle is very cute and beautiful with bright colors! The black spots and the big head with the "w" or "m" shape can make it more fascinating. Thanks for providing interesting information about it.

p.s. I also found this kind of lady beetle in my garden. It's very small and I'm glad that I can find it.

I am very happy that you could see this lady beetle in your garden. These bugs look much better in person and if you have one or more in your garden that is a good thing because it is eating all of the harmful (bad bugs) in your garden.

Thanks so much for your kind words. : )

You're welcome! Ah! I'm glad to know that the lady beetle can help protect my garden from any harmful bugs. But, so sad, I have never seen the lady beetle again in my garden.... ;D

Aw, that is sad. I hope they will return soon.

Ah! I do really hope so! Thanks! ;)

Good to see you posting again @whatisnew and what better way then a ladybug, yea I thought as much they do bite but still cute.

Thanks @simonjay for your kind words. Hopefully I will be able to post daily again. : )

Your camera takes nice pictures.

Thanks Mike. I am still having problems with this camera. Some turn out great and others are blurry. I ask myself, "Too windy? Not steady hands? Zoomed in too close?" And on and on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12