Menacing Looking Horntail Wasp

in #nature5 years ago

Horntail wasps are in the family Siricidae and they are wood boring wasps. Thankfully, this menacing looking wasp does not sting people or pets. The long thing at the end of the abdomen is not a stinger; it is an ovipositor which females use to drill holes into dying trees, where they deposit over 200 eggs in the bark of trees.

In 3-4 weeks the eggs will hatch and the larvae will live inside the tree for up to two years before emerging. The adults average an approximate length of 1.6" to 2" long with the females being larger than males. There are several dying trees behind this fence and I wondered if this is a newly emerged horntail wasp or one looking for a place to lay her eggs. An unanswered question forever.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: ipm.ucanr.edu, orkin.com, everythingabout.net

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

Wonderful information... you must go over the fence and find out if they are there. :-)

Thanks Mike! No way! I am not going over the fence; who knows what may be lurking there. That is one question I can do without an answer. : )

I'd like to see a freewrite about that.....LOL

HaHa! Me too and you would be the perfect one to write it. Go for it! : )

So... they don't use the ovipositor (#brisbylearnedanewword) for jousting? ;^)
<3
Also, the larvae live in there for up to two years?! I hope that the tree charges rent. If not, then this squirrel is jealous. :)

HaHa! You are a trip brisby! OMG! ROFLMAO!
I am so happy that I taught you a new word. Yay! It is a catchy word when you say it with a beat. : )

I love it when I can get you laughing!

🤗 You have yourself a great day, Whatisnew!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43