Sandbar Willow Shrubs

in #nature5 years ago

I thought this was a Cottonwood Tree but my research has this as a Sandbar Willow Shrub. Well, actually it is a thicket of said shrubs.

Here I thought that willows only came in tree form but I learned that they also grow as a shrub. This group of sandbar willow shrubs are native to North America and grows 6-15 feet tall. Since all willows love moisture, it is common to see them growing alongside streams. Their interlacing roots help to hold back soil and stops erosion. I found this group alongside of a small stream last May.

In the spring, catkins appear on the branches, and in May-June the catkins open to release the cottony seeds.

I mentioned that willows love moisture, so naturally their roots will gravitate towards moisture. You would be smart not to plant willows near water pipes or sewer lines.

Thanks for stopping by.

Information Source: thespruce.com, extension.iastate.edu

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

Howdy tonight(actually morning)whatisnew! say, interesting pictures. Especially if you're a moose looking for something to eat! I didn't know that about the trees also being shrubs either. See, great minds don't know the same stuff!

Howdy @janton! HaHa! What happens when great minds do know the same stuff? Do they explode with so much knowledge? It is pretty amazing how much a human brain can hold. That is one of the things I like about Steemit. You sure can learn a lot here.

ha! reminds me of smithlabs! I was telling someone just tonight all the things he does, high tech trouble shooting for Boeing when their engineers can't figure something out, building super computers in his spare time, on and on. it's wild. lol.
anyway his brain hasn't exploded yet. but he hasn't met you yet either. lol! just teasing!

I am belly laughing now. He miight be crying after meeting me. HaHa!
smithlabs really is a genius, isn't he? And he even has spare time? How?

well actually he would make geniuses look silly. He's a rare one. I think he's so much higher than what they rate a genius IQ at that I doubt if his can be rated! If I named all the things he does, which I did earlier tonight for someone else, you wouldn't believe it. He does so much because he does 4 or 5 things at the same time!

It's unreal. he can watch movies, read emails and comment, listen to teaching, eat, all at the same time. He always has two or three computer screens up doing different things. Most people can't concentrate on more than one thing but he is rare in that he can. So he gets tons of things done all at once. plus he almost never sleeps! he works all night.

Talk about a multi-tasker. He sounds amazing. I can't walk and chew gum at the same time. Only kidding but you get my drift. LOL!

howdy again whatisnew! oh yes Ma'am I'm like most guys..one thing at a time. I just can't handle more than that. So his brain is wired differently. ALOT different. It's a blessing though and he helps tons of people plus makes good money fixing high tech and other problems that people can't figure out.

A lot different for sure. It warms my heart to know that he uses his extra ordinary blessings to bless others. : )

Interesting post I will share it

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, thank you! : )

No natural willows around by me. White cottony seeds put on quite a show.

I thought for sure that you would have some because of the lakes and rivers you have. It was windy that day and it looked like it was snowing but I wasn't able to get any photos of the white cottony seeds in the air.

You have to get tent to be close by when these things happen :-)

Those close-up shots are beautiful @whatisnew

Thanks so much @simonjay! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86