Wintery Wonders

A few random pictures from around the area, taken in the past week with my Samsung Luna cell phone. First up, the last blossom on my Christmas cactus. It began blooming before Thanksgiving and this one is still there today, looking like it could be the last day for it. This is from 2 days ago when it was at its peak:


20190107_175503 (2).jpg

On my milk run last week, I got to watch a bald eagle and a red tailed hawk play "King of the Hill." He is a little hard to spot, but I snapped this shot while Eagle was king.


20190107_105515 (2).jpg

Hawk had been on that knoll, Eagle came and ran him off. Then Hawk went across the road and claimed another hilltop. Eagle was having none of it and soon headed over to run Hawk off that hill, too!


20190107_105522.jpg

The sky show at feeding time is often spectacular this time of year. Those mountains can really make your heart skip a beat some days, just stunning! This is facing the west at sunrise, we do full sky displays around here!


20190108_082543.jpg


This morning I invented a new word for the day: "frogsty." These pictures are NOT out of focus, it was just that foggy and frosty down here in the little "valley" where we live with almost clear skies above, setting a rather mysterious tone to the scene:

20190111_080839.jpg


20190111_080846.jpg

Here is hoping your winter is filling you with wonder!!
NAMASTE!

Sort:  

Wow - you have a lot of snow. Good to "see" you :)

Hey! Good to see you too! It is nothing compared to 2 years ago! We had about 4 feet then. I hope you are doing well! I am trying to get myself to knuckle down and get back in the habit of posting, but I have been sort of shunning the internet for a bit. I am TIRED of google and facebook and the alphabet soup agencies spying on me. I am not saying anything I "need" to hide, but it is just RUDE lol!

I get you. I am trying to figure out how to stay away from the mainstream social media - but, my audience for the podcast is there. It gets so complicated!!

But keep posting here since at least it can provide an alternative - only if enough people are using it... I know it is hard and we have to take time off ever so often!

Great photos. Nice shot of the frogsty winter sky lol

Thank you! I wish I had gone in and grabbed my good camera, but I have tried that many times only to come back to find the colors changed, the animal left, whatever... At least my phone is almost always with me!

We've had one shovel-able snow this year. That's it...lol. Hasn't been that cold either. Have had the grand kids over a couple times in the past two weeks where they were out drawing on the sidewalk with chalk. Rather strange though how now 45 to 50 outside in January is considered good sidewalk chalking weather and they are still able to ride their big wheels which should have gone in the basement a couple months ago. Now they are all giddy though to go sledding since they aren't scared of a bit bigger hill then the little one across the street at the park...but no snow yet for that.
Your foggy picture almost seems like a frozen desert.

It has been pretty mild around here too. This is not really much snow for this area, and we did not get anything that stuck until December. Our grand daughters are just getting the hang of sledding. Going downhill is fine, but explaining that they need to drag the sled back to the top was not a lesson they cared to learn... lol!

I still have one five year old grandson I have to retrieve the sled for, the others are pretty much capable now thank goodness. lol.

Lol! The girls think grandpa pulling them back up hill is part of the ride. Grandpa thinks that was a bad idea to ever get that started...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85