Shitpost From The CEO of Steemit?! - From a Curators Perspective

in #ned6 years ago (edited)


Just a hour ago Ned posted what can be considered is a low quality post. If I didn't know from who it was I would probably label it as a "shitpost". This is the picture he posted, aka selfie:

His picture got me thinking about the Steem culture towards these kinds of posts. As a curator for @curie and @ocd, I kind of developed an irritation for low quality picture posts. Especially 1 picture posts that get more rewards than the average quality posts. The fact that @ned declined rewards of his selfie post, does not play a big factor to why I do not mind such a post from him. Although it does has a little effect on it I think. But even so I wonder: should the CEO of Steemit posts selfies? In my opinion yes.. it's perfectly fine because on the blockchain we all are free.


The pressure of delivering quality


Before Steem we had known Facebook, Instagram, Twitter etc. On these platforms 99% of my posts would be considered shitposts, which I would never post on Steemit, because I think it doesn't fit on my blog, and in the Steem community where we put much stress on providing quality.

I just imagined to myself a future Steem, where all of my friends and family could be on this platform. What kind of posts I would make then. Would I accept selfies on my own blog? My last post was an challenge which I very much enjoyed. As it was an inside joke with my colleagues of @ocd. But still a tiny part of me said that it was not right to post such a challenge, as it "didn't make much sense". The bigger stake holders of this platform have this pressure everyday. As they earn big on their posts, they feel a bigger responsibility to the community to provide quality.

Not all whales ofcourse feel this reponsibility and I have seen many posting a few short and low quality posts and get 10x the rewards I get for my posts. This caused many frustration to me many times. And I have heard this from other people as well. But today after seeing Ned's post, and not having my usual feeling, I came to the conclusion that we should have a more accepting culture towards short posts with big rewards.

The biggest reason I "accepted" Ned's post is because I know who he is, and what he has done for the platform. And seeing him posting in a dark plane with earphone on and a little smile on his face, is fun. It's human. It doesn't always have to be; What did I learn from your post? Or how much effort did you put in your post?

No, it's OK. From now on I will look at short posts with a different eye. And most of the big stake holders who receive relative large rewards on these posts probably deserver it, as they have worked hard for it, harder than most of us do. I also think this way for those who mostly used their own big pot of money to buy in a stake atleast contributed by increasing the price.

So to end this, I will do another OCD challenge, just because it bring much joy to me :)


Thank you for reading all and keep on Steeming! :)


LOGO_PM

Sort:  

No offence, I give zero fucks about what @ned post or not.

Low quality posts dont exist imo. Regardless how many photo's or how many words or whatever..

What do you or other people expect?That everybody is a decent writer? Im not and i keep blogging :D

Peace

What do you or other people expect?That everybody is a decent writer?

You mentioned a very valid point here my friend. One I could mention in my blog. Not everyone is that magical blogger, but if they create value for their friends and families by posting fun pictures or something similar should we frown upon that author?

Thanks for your understanding.

I def think we should not "frown upon that author." This place should be and luckily already is for everybody.

Good day there

This place should be and luckily already is for everybody.

Well said.

The big thing which is making steemit so popular right now is the 60% of traffic it gets from SEO searches. This is a direct result of quality posts. If more "shitposts" get added well Steemit will get the Google slap like so many other article marketing sites did a few years back. Its kind of that line where quality is needed in order to maintain the high standard we have here at steemit

From experience I could argue whether the users that stay on this platform, and even sign up is because of google searches. Most people that I know, know about Steemit from word of mouth or from youtube and such. And the "high quality standard" is not so high as on other websites, so in that regard there is really nothing to maintain. I believe what gets people on here will be through communities and dapps.

I feel the pressure of maintaining some quality on my blog too. But we can still have some fun once in a while, steemit is a kind of social media too. It becomes an issue when all we do is 'shitpost' and have fun, yet get paid huge for that.

But we can still have some fun once in a while

I hope you don't dislike posting :P

But yes I agree! @golddeejay

Lol...Sure i don't. Just that some posts takes way less time and resonate with the 'entertainment seekers'.

It is about finding a bit of balance.

I agree with what you both are saying about finding a balance. I want my blog to be mostly posts of a certain type, written in a certain style, but sometimes I just want to participate in a photo challenge, or post a picture of my cat. It sorta "messes up" my feed, but we're multi-faceted people with lots of interests, so whattheheck. :-)

Haha, what I have seen some people do is to make a seperate account to participate in these photo challenges or for memes, so yeah... :P

ah, I never thought of that. Still pretty new here. Thanks, @futurethinker

For sure, I mean he didn't earn anything, and I think that's fine. I mean we are all here trying to pump up new, original and well-written content every day, I have only seen a fractions of shitposters and honestly I get mad when I see a low effort content get so many upvotes, because I put a lot of effort on mine, I feel it's kinda unfair.

Anyway thanks for posting this, it made me think.

Good to hear! Thank you for reading!

And yes, for some posts it twists my veins.

I dont understand the curie hate for selfies. haha.
Mark started that. :D

Yeah right? This post was a joke! Neds selfie had more value than all the words in this post. Talk about having free time haha

I was kidding. Making an internal curie joke. 😇

Haha, I understand

I do have to say, I like your perspective on this. I take this site a bit seriously at times, but when we strike that balance, we can obviously distinguish quality, world-bettering work from human, social media. I agree with you.

Nicely said! At the end of the day this is a social network so Its cool to see the human side of the big influencers. Besides, most of those whales have earned the right to post shitposts everytime in a while, let's give them a litle break!

We all have the right to have fun on steemit!

Thanks for coming by @leribyleri! I think we should post about the stuff that we like, but maintain a certain quality sometimes can erode the fun of it. A little break is needed sometimes I agree! :)

Sometimes we are surprised by things as simple as those, it should not always be work I think it is good to take a break from the same daily routine

I think we still have free will and free speech, so we can write or post whatever we want. If someone always writes quality content, that person has gained the right to share a simple photo or write a "shitpost" sometimes, it's not a big deal. But the people that always posts that kind of stuff is another story

I think everyone is free to post whatever he or she wants whether a ceo or a newbie. Steemit is a free platform and it's not meant for experts who are good at blogging alone. This is a good example from ned.
If you like it, upvote if you don't leave it.
We are the ones making steemit a difficult platform for ourselves.

I am not saying people should not put down quality posts. Yes, we need more quality post but we should be free to also put down some "shit" post and just have fun than to be serious at all time.

That's why must people result to using bot because after putting all efforts into an article, it almost becomes like a dust and with just one dull picture, you get the same reward and can even get a better reward.

And the sad part is the bot is not real acknowledgement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17