Message to @ned ... why do we even need SMT ? Smart Media Tokens ?

in #ned5 years ago (edited)

I am going to say what I think a lot of us are already thinking .... maybe not.

Why do we even need Smart Media Tokens ? (SMT)

Isn’t The Steem Blockchain and Steemit complicated enough ?
Why spend any resources making it more complicated ?

There are already way too many Crypto Tokens out there... we don’t need more.
We need less.

How about we just make Steem Great again?
We can do everything we want with Steem and Steem Dollars (SBD pegged at $1 USD)

New people can barely understand the existing relationship between Steem and Steem Dollars.
Let’s just keep it Simple and make it easier for people to sign up...

That’s just my 2 Cents

Let’s take what we have here and make it easier ....
Steemit is already a Beautiful Creation.

As Thoreau says “ Simplify, Simplify” ...

What do you think @ned ?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

👍Agreed.
As Thoreau says “ Simplify, Simplify” ...

Amen!

Thanks ... I see that you have moved most of Your Steem to Binance. I am curious to know what you bought instead of Steem. Tether ? Did it perform better than Steem ? Since December of 2017 I moved about 1,000 Liquid Steem to Binance and Bittrex and bought various Alt coins and they have all lost about 90 % + of their Value. Of all the Crypto Coins would you say Bitcoin is still the best ? Just curious to learn from your Experience.

Don't keep all your eggs in one basket :)

Agreed.... what are some other good eggs ?

If I knew I would be living on the moon right now :)

All the other eggs I bought are doing worse than Steem.

Coins with bigger market cap are generally less prone to volatility. Maybe aim at coins that are in the top 30. Invest in good projects, prjects you can understand and beleive in their mission and future. When it comes to making money, I'm no expert. All I can say is this is a really speculative market. Stable coins are also an option. Thether I don't like.
Good luck, buddy!

I am liking Smoke.io token today.... up 100%

I said coins in the top 30, not top 600. Good luck!

If I could give 2 upvotes here I would

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you.... your 1vote is very much appreciated. Do you think @ned will respond to me ?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'd imagine no. Only because I'm sure he's been mentioned in many posts recently. But I def agree there's a ton of good stuff here already and creating one's own token is not needed. Hopefully they are seeking real solutions to their money problems. I've been looking into alternative sites and most of them are just steem copies or just not very interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Smoke.io is great... you need to post about Cannabis though .... but they are posting Ads at the top and bring in some good old fashioned Cash.

Indeed. If I had some $ for smoke I would haha

Posted using Partiko Android

100% agreement here. We have something awesome to work with right now, albeit one that needs refinement. We should be working on that instead of adding additional complexity.

Agreed. I've thought about potentially startign up an SMT, and it doesn't make much sense to me -- at least not right away. Why do we have to go from earning STEEM/SBD which, eventually I hope, could be exchanged directly for products or fiat -- to a system where we need to go from DTUBE or HUNT coins, to STEEM, to products / fiat.

It certainly seems like another added layer of complexity in most cases. I'm sure there's some good use cases -- but I doubt that most proposals make sense.

Why aren’t more people asking this Question ? Do you think @ned will respond to me ?

I'd say it's doubtful.

Yeah.... I’m not even a dolphin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have u tried leaving your thoughts on his post?

Great Idea .... I will copy and post there ....

Commented under his latest Interview Post ... lets see if I get flagged ... or an answer from @ned.

I think that’s the best place to try & get an interaction based on what he said in the live stream. I’d like to see Ned be less powerful & visible, we are supposed to be decentralized after all

Yeah... what do the Witnesses think about all this? They can barely run The Steem and SBD nodes how can they afford to keep an infinite # of SMT's running?

The Smoke.io founder does a great job responding to all my comments and ideas. and Rewards me with Huge Upsmokes for my efforts...

I managed to understand the reason for SMT to exist.
Since we have a roadblock much reason to rethink the mere objective of Steemit.
According to the plan Steemit will become SMT itself.
The problem I have with @ned when he speak or post few people understand him. So many developers language that few will make sense of.
Now we all face one big issue the survival of #steem.
I am pretty sure the ones that comprehend that part will post about it and a solution should be forthcoming.
For now we need to hold on SMT and make steem dapp like Steemit easier to use.
Like I said incentive everyone to post (good post)and we need more Dapps exchange and more movement of steem token.
We are sitting now at $1.6 millions for 24 hours. We need a lot more traffic for the token.
Tough for me to state problem. I would love to post solution. That’s what we need.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

I read the white paper. STEEM began as a Smart Media Token. As I understand the idea was to create a token that could fund multiple web sites.

This web site, SteemIt, was designed around VESTS. When you "power up" you convert STEEM into VESTS.

SBD is an attempt to create a free floating crypto currency that is pegged to the dollar. They discovered that this very difficult to accomplish.

So, I guess he is back to trying the original plan.

As for the large number of media tokens, when you get down to it, it is absurd for any company to build a platform based on the crypto from another platform because it creates a very dangerous dependency.

The crypto world will end up reflecting the complex relations between different companies. There really isn't a way to simplify. The best hope to that people create structures that allow the users to understand the relations.

That is fine. I think that Steem and SBD provide absolutely everything anyone ever needs.... I just want to be able to build up my Steem Power, Build up my Steem and SBD so that I can use it to buy anything I want on Steemit. That is all .... no other Smart media Tokens needed ever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76