Crocheted squares for charity blanket and an autumn walk ...

in #needlework5 years ago (edited)

A short needlework update without a tutorial; it's just a simple granny square :D

In a local magazine I found a call to local crafters to contribute a 6" square for charity blankets. That's my first square, but I'll happily contribute more as it's a very easy and fulfilling task.

My next challenge is to make a granny square with a heart.

I used a 4mm crochet hook and 100% wool yarn I found ages ago in a charity shop so I can't really make a whole garment with it.

I also found the craft group meets weekly during the day (yay ... not an evening meet-up at last !). I might just join them for a cuppa if I'm courageous enough ...

I'm also still working on the knitted digestive tract and stuffing the intestine as I go along. I left the length of the tube rather long so I struggled a bit. I used the contents of a really nice pillow for the stuffing - I shall post photos when you can actually see a proper difference as now it's just a tube.


It was a very busy weekend for us and today I went for a mini walk with @mivstar visiting from Bristol and saw some wonderful autumnal views and colours.

This was the best part : what a friendly horse !



work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

I haven't found ut how to make a granny square yet - yours looks very nice 😊 The view on your walk looks lovely, sometimes it's really beautiful, isn't it - mild weather, beautiful sun and then all these colours. I have two tiny acers in the front garden, their colours have been beautiful this autumn.

Thank you, @shanibeer. I remember the colour of one of your acers and it was so beautiful !
Here's a nice tutorial if you're interested :


If you go to about (min) 3:00, that would take you to the beginning of the square. It uses UK terms and it's quite clear.

Beautiful photos, especially the horse 😊
The crafting group sounds nice, where do they meet? I ask because here the groups always meet in shops and you are obligated to buy the shops yarn (so no alternative for me)

I totally agree with you, @neumannsalva. There's another group that meets in a shop and I'd feel a bit inadequate with my choice of (cheap acrylic) yarn there. This group meets in a local cafe :D I shall write more about the group when I manage to get to their meeting - probably not this week as I'm doing 'taxi runs' to the dentist (the wonders of living in the countryside for sure) ...

Gaaaag dentist.... 😱 But I understood you are not affected but only the driver?
As I live in a big town I always romanticize the country, but I can imagine how exhausting it could be without a good infrastructure...

You're right, it's @tinygalaxy who's hoping to finally have her braces off !

You're also right about the infrastructure; I only learnt to drive because of this issue. When we lived in the city of Coventry there was a good transport network and we could actually just walk everywhere. Here there just aren't enough people to make it all pay and the distances covered to get to the facilities are just vast :D

Interesting thing, making the squares for charity blankets. They're small so even beginner can do one :)

A needlework group - just try it. It might be great :)

Perhaps the horse is looking what the strange human is doing there with this thingie. Might be something to eat...

That's right... I'm guessing that they don't even have to be done in the round so they could just be like 'tension swatches'. I'm hoping to find out more personally as the magazine article didn't cover that.
That horse was just so friendly and curious, @muscara :D

Nice autumn photos. Looks like your trees are still holding on to some leaves.

We've had beautiful colours, @steven-patrick... I've resisted taking too many photos :D

Granny squares are quite fun to do, we just keep going and going and going :). Yours are really neat @cryptocariad. But one with a heart is interesting.
Oo craft group meet ups. I used to see a small group meeting in yarn shops and they look quite intimidating to me, knitting away, chit chatting :D but I guess once you join the group, there is a lot to learn and to chat about. I hope to find a group here who meets in cafes. That would be a more relaxing location. Ooo your digestive tract is being stuffed now? Coooool! Yay you are almost done!
Love the photo of the horse checking you guys out :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, @marblely... It looks a bit plain as a first one but I will aim to start including more colours soon :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87