#needlework : Attempting a rolled hem - 061218

in #needlework5 years ago

Every so often I have to make hems. This particular one is a ‘re-do’; @jen0revision was happy with the hem length of her dress, but the actual fold was too bulky. As she’s wearing the same dress again this year (yay for re-using!) we have decided to just cut the fabric (shudder) and make a rolled hem.

This photo of my main tools doesn’t show the iron or the stress involved in this process.

If you know how to do this, please turn away now…

I know have not really learnt this properly to attempt it straight away, but I found this extremely clear video tutorial so I have been ironing, cutting and sewing and taking my time.

The process is very slow and stressful, so I take breaks… I have plenty of time to complete it (famous last words).

What I would really like is to be able to use the sewing machine… So if you can recommend a good tutorial, please let me know :D

The photo above is work in progress so far.



work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

A trick I learned in the bridal industry for hemming chiffon and other thin fabrics by machine: Press the hem, but do not cut. Stitch close to the fold. Then cut off the extra fabric. The line of machine stitching you did at the fold stabilizes the hem so you can roll it under and do the final stitching without stretching and rippling.

Thank you for that tip, @fiberfrau. I shall try it next time. I was too worried about the sewing machine misbehaving as it often does ...

Such a lovely dress @cryptocariad. I tried rolled hem using machine with narrow hemmer foot and was successful once out of a few times :P. I watched a few videos and was following this one: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zFeLzscngJY but it is a little tricky to start. The beginning part took some number of tries before it actually feeds in properly. And I ended up hand stitching :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for the video link, @marblely - I will watch it with the sound on later today :D

My advice would be take a nice stress relieving break. I suggest tea.

I took a lot of breaks and have now finished it, @steven-patrick; tea's always good !

Oh god.... I at first only saw the beautiful dress and the scissors and I nearly got a heart attack. I have no idea how you managed to survive this sewing task (you are alive or?) And sadly, I also have no helpful advices, only advices as I could have never done this. I am still so inexperienced in sewing...

I've just come back from a headache-clearing walk, @neumannsalva. The headache hasn't cleared but managed to finish the hem and it looks fine.

The process was fine but daunting ! I followed the video tutorial and next time I will also try @fiberfrau's tip.

My dream is to use a sewing machine and be really confident about it - dream on !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73