Random encounters with needlework- May 9 & 10 2019

in #needlework5 years ago

Embroidered art at the coffee shop! Not mine but cool to see.
20190510_232901.jpg

The last week has been busy at work and in life as well. Work is ramping up to our crunch time and everything has to be settled by mid June or it will be a mess.
I've been so tired lately that I finally broke down and asked my Dr about doing a sleep test for apnea. Turns out I have a mild case so now I am going to be getting a CPAP machine in the next few weeks. Hopefully it helps me get some energy back!

The Sleep Clinic had some pretty quilts on display in their rooms- I don't know who made them but I thought it was a nice touch that they had quilts instead of paintings.
20190510_231411.jpg

This one was quilted and then the felt flowers sewn on.
20190510_231327.jpg

After work I met up with my crafting group at a coffee shop. We admired this months art show, it was of needlework pieces by a local artist. The artist is on Instagram @arielthegazelle and does beautiful work.

There were desert scenes-
20190510_231601.jpg

There were mountains and flowers-
20190510_231623.jpg

Night time camping scenes!
20190510_231649.jpg

And garden and farm scenery-
20190510_231514.jpg

Even the info about the artist was posted creatively-
20190510_231452.jpg

@lordvdr missed hanging out with the group as he wanted to get home and mow the lawn. So I brought some dessert home from the bakery- a lavender cupcake, a raspberry cupcake, and 2 red velvet cupcakes. We had the red velvet ones last night, are saving the others for Saturday night.
20190510_231736.jpg

It was such a fine day, I had to grab a photo of the river and Blue Mountain from my Dr's office-
20190509_153111.jpg

And another one looking towards Lolo Peak-
20190510_235325.jpg

Happy Friday! Hope everyone has a fun weekend planned!

Sort:  

What a great find, needlework everywhere. Those little scenes are lovely, aren't they? Was the artist selling them?
Sorry about the sleep apnea, but good it has been diagnosed. I slept like a log for the first time last night! I don't have a big problem, but I usually wake once or twice in the night. Hope you get things sorted out, lack of sleep is so debilitating.
Lovely mountains and river and sky and trees :)

Yes they are for sale, the ones I checked to buy were already marked as sold. I think they are quite lovely too!
The sleep thing... once I go to sleep I generally sleep ok but snore and stop breathing randomly. With luck the machine helps... but I also need to start going to bed earlier... it currently is 12:34 AM my time! Good night! :)

I don't know where the time goes between 10pm and midnight. One minute, I'm thinking I'll just put the milk bottles out/clear the dishes/set the washing machine for the night run/catch up on the news/steem/friends and family and then it's, as you say, 12:34am!

Exactly! One minute it is 10 and I am feeding the cats, the next thing I know it is after midnight! :)

Bad sleep and low energy are draining... I hope the machine helps. I probably should also let this check sometimes as I snore. My nose was broken and it is blocked most time of the year.
BUtyou are right the quilts are beautiful and the embroidery- wow. I loooove the night scenes, I directly followed her on Instagram. I am a bit sad, that I hate to embroider because these artworks look so beautiful and I instantly want to try to make something like this.
As always your landscape photos are amazing. I wish I could beam (also nothing new :-D)
My weekend started with a bit of taichi and I will distract myself from all the grief by searching for a new sewing machine. Mine was so nice to get as a gift (you remember I have won it) but it comes to its limits: I cannot sew button holes and I always have to pull the fabric to get it sew over seams and it is so loud that I sew with earplugs in.
I am today going to visit a store which has more than one brand and I am curious about the differences (but I am very unsure that I can really grasp the pro and cons of the individual machines) And my budget is not too high :-D
I wish you a nice and relaxing weekend with good sleep

I hope you find a good sewing machine! Have fun picking one out, there are so many bells and whistles to choose from.
I too look at the art and wish I could do stuff like that. I think that with practice I could... but that takes time.
Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75