DIY | Arm Knitting? Jumbo Knit Heirloom Throws

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

0.jpg

Good day my fellow Needlework friends!


Have you noticed the gorgeous jumbo stitch bulky knit throws being made lately? I have wanted to make one for quite a while but the needles were a bit intimidating!


Well, did you know you can knit these jumbo stitch throws using your arms?


Yes, it’s true! I decided to knit blankets for each of my daughters for Christmas and while I was searching online for jumbo yarn I came across a wonderful video teaching arm knitting. Check this out it’s a great teaching video. .


Maggie makes the process so simple. Who would have thought you could use your arms for knitting needles.


But you can!


todaysjourney.jpg

Linen Jumbo Knit Throw

You’ll Need


  • 12 skeins of Couture Jazz Jumbo Yarn, Color Linen

  • I began by casting on 18 stitches. Just as you would when knitting using your needles.
    DSC_0128 (2).jpg

  • Now we knit back on to the other arm. This was a bit awkward for the first few rows because you want to keep the stitches snug around your forearms.

DSC_0132 (2).jpg


  • Pretty soon the knitting became much easier! It was a chilly day so the warm cover was welcome.

DSC_0134 (2).jpg


  • I continued for 35 rows. This made the blanket just nice for a throw on the sofa.

DSC_0138 (2).jpg


  • After the final row we bind off the last row being careful to keep the stitches even, not too tight! I didn’t want the top of the throw being narrow and the bottom being wider! Final dimensions 36" x 60". Perfect for a throw or lap blanket.

Voila! I did it!


DSC_0142 (2).jpg


This was my second throw. I have to say it was so fun I made a third for my other daughter. I think they were pleased. They both live in areas with cold winters so I thought these might come in handy. I hope you’ll watch Maggie’s video and try Bulky Arm Knitting.


Oh, one note of caution! Each throw took me about 2 ½ -3 hours to make. Once you begin, you can’t “lay the needles down!” It goes fast, but you can’t stop until you’re finished.


I hope you’ll try it. I would love to see what you create! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 364 (01/07/19)

This post was such a treat!! I’m so glad you shared today for #NeedleWorkMonday! I love arm knitting! I taught a class on how to do this once. We made scarves...

54FD34FD-BE27-4A37-ACF7-8DB174F17816.jpeg

EC171E10-5ECF-46E7-9E93-BF1E09CA5E3E.jpeg

EE60AA40-ED65-4745-A4C9-C22D40DEF891.jpeg

It is very awkward at first but once you get the hang of it it’s fun! Lol I warned my class to eat their snacks, drink water and use the restroom before we began because there’s no stopping until finished! 😄

Your throw looks so neat and professional. How did you get that raised look at the end? I Love that! Thanks for the idea of making a throw. One of my goals was to crochet a throw but this way would be so much quicker and I love the chunky look! These are great gifts and I’m sure your daughters were pleased! I just have to wait until I can afford enough of that yarn lol!

Please come back to share with us soon!!

Oh my goodness your scarves are beautiful. I've been thinking about making those for the girls too. As for the raised stitching...I reversed my knitting stitches like purling (I haven't knitted for so long I think that is the term, lol) I wanted to add a different detail on the bottom since I used only one color. I really enjoyed it. So you taught classes about it? Wow, I am really impressed!! Thank you for the kind words @crosheille, I'll share more soon! :) Love seeing all of the beautiful needlework with @needleworkmonday

Thank you! You should make them, they are so warm and cozy!

Oh cool, I would have to look up how to reverse stitches, I’m still trying to learn regular knitting stitches lol.

Yes a few of my family members and friends wanted to learn how to make scarves without actual needles. I decided to teach them all at once :D

So, what are the final dimensions on this ... approximately?

Great question...I guess I need to include that information! Approximately 36" x 60" I wanted to make a throw or lap blanket.

What an interesting way to knit i had never heard of arm knitting for this post

you would really have to plan your time well to do this, you wouldnt want something to come up mid progress and be stuck LOL

I've never seen nor heard of arm knitting, love the chunky look! This must be a good arm workout or not? Lovely gift, all your birds certainly are in paradise when they fly home ;)

Haha so cool!!
Thats funny, right before I read 'once you start, you cant stop until you finish', I was thinking, 'but what if you need a bathroom break?!'
LOL
Cool post!

So... plan your time wisely if trying this- good to know! I'll bet you could arm crochet, then maybe be able to put the project down if needed. :)

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful work, my daughter just made a throw with that jumbo yarn for my daughter-in-law for Christmas. It was awesome

OMG after reading your post I am back to my daydreams of arm knitting a chunky throw. I'll just have to get out there and finally get the yarn...
Your throw looks really beautiful! And I absolutely love the idea of finishing a project so quickly :-)
By the way, is this 100% wool yarn and do you know if it doesn't start getting 'bubbles' after a while?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87