It's Finished and Functional... Gardening Top Upcycle



Here is this week's installment of A Sister's Love.

I left off last week having finished the upcycled gardening top but still needing to try it on.

It was Too Big!

It was a straight up miscalculation from the beginning. I forgot to subtract for the opening. SIGH!

Oh Well... Carry on.

I make a plan, but I accidentally deleted the pics of it. Lol

I start by choosing a new place to run the ties through.

I chose to do a quick tuck on each side, using the first button and the width of the back edging as my guides.

I hand stitch two layers together and then turn and stitch the third to the other two.

KIMG5003-01.jpeg

Since this is for the garden, and I need to fix my suntan ASAP, this will be good enough.

I was excited that the fold gave me another point to thread through, and rerouted the ties.

It is an improvement but I would do it completely different next time. I think I would use shorter individual ties attached in two pairs.

Modeled as per requests. Here's the front view. I love how the front turned out, the gentle flow of it.

The back view. I dislike the way my quick tuck hangs.

So far wearing is comfy. It stays up doesn't squeeze at the ribswhen working due to the elastic piece I added to the tie string. It covers what it needs to and looks great!

I think after the wedding I will be remaking the back, I really like this top.

Preview of next week's installment of A Sister's Love.

I needed a strapless bra before I could begin the dress alterations.
I had a thrift store budget. But was tickled to pick up a few possibilities for $1. Check back next week to see what I get to work.

Once I have the bra right, it will be time to begin the dress alterations.

Check back to see what I choose to do.

This week's shopping goal, cowboy boots as requested by the bride.
These are proving harder to aquire on my thrift store budget.

Effect_20180512_170829-01-01.jpeg

On a sweet side note.. As I selected my feature photo I was struck by how much I look like my mama in her beauty school graduation photo.

Love you Mom, wish you could see both us girls get married this year... You are missed.

Here is a quick shout out to the folks who asked for more!

@crystalize
@thriftymum
@cryptocariad
@oceanmoon

Until next #needleworkmonday... Keep your needles workin'.


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

tribe-steemup-banner3.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

handstitching ..... aaahhhh (I think I am lazy...)
I admire you ability to sew with hand and produce a wearable and nice garment. I am still in a learning process with sewing and will try out a dress pattern I drafted myself (so desaster is waiting) and I must hand stitch too. I am not sure this is a good idea for me :-Dsuper star
Your photos are all beautiful - espacially the 'bridge in time' where we can see you and your mother <3

Great work! I need to learn to do more repairs to my clothes 💯🐒

wow! Wonderful work. That is one fine gardening top. I've been known to use a big billowy scarf and just tie it around myself because I can't sew. I am so impressed and love it!

Cool post borrowedearth, I'm always impressed by anyone who can make there own clothes. I think if I tried to craft a shirt or trousers the needle would spend most of it's time being extracted from my thumb ;-) Great to see your process

Loved the photo comparison with your mom. Been interesting watching the way you've worked thro making this. Much like I used to do when I sewed...

This looks very comfy!

Simple yet nice... does it stay up through gardening? but I'm sure it'll fix your tan as you want it to... happy gardening 😊

You had to hand stitch to your size, I don't envy you. But I'm glad you're comfortable with the result. The back can be done later.
Shout out to the bride! ❤❤ please help us get her the boots she needs.
You look like your momma hands down!! Congratulations on your upcoming marriage as well. I'm pretty sure Mommy woulda been proud ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09