NeedleWorkMonday - Baby Crochet Cardigan - Part 3

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

96857111-88FB-4536-97FB-0F36FD159155.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone! I know most of us are posting on Tuesday this week which is okay. Of course there will be exceptions to the rule sometimes especially when posting on Monday was not possible for most of us. Tuesday’s are not my usual posting days so I will visit and enjoy all of your posts tomorrow on Wednesday. I’m looking forward to seeing what’s on your needles this week! 😊

In case you missed it here is Part 1 and Part 2 of this baby cardigan. I’m making it for our 3 month old to have once the cooler weather hits. As you can see I decided to add on 2 pockets for embellishments. I tried my hands at adding another piece to it using freeform crochet which I will get into in a minute.

05818D3B-2E7C-470D-B496-C86C8B5DDBDD.jpeg

FF3AD42B-46F1-423A-8BBB-8C91C97731D3.jpeg

My husband and I were debating on whether one pocket was enough. I’m so used to seeing two pockets on most little cardigans that I couldn’t just leave it with one. He told me it looked sporty with a single pocket but I opted for two instead.

0E9FEB86-99E2-4D7B-B16F-5F33846779CC.jpeg

Pocket Instructions:

(These pockets are crocheted from top to bottom)

Row 1: Chain 8.
Row 2: Sc in 2nd ch from hook and all the way across (7 sts).
Row 3-5: Ch. 1, sc in each st.
Row 6: Ch. 1, sc dec, sc in next 3 sts, end with sc dec in last 2 sts. Tie off work.

E62CE10E-94A8-4AE0-9B5E-FA653622F371.jpeg

C59AF34F-D970-46F0-926D-66BC1BA81039.jpeg

E87FEA6C-3422-4F15-AA3C-2E522ABA2886.jpeg

This is what I tried to freeform crochet...a little hood on the cardigan...FAIL! There are a couple of reasons why this was a fail for me. Well for one, I have no idea what this was turning into to lol! When I started it I had the vision and it even looked like it was going to be a cute hoodie. Some where along the line I should have increased my work because it was too narrow. It ended up looking like a stylish long collar on my baby.

The second reason it was a fail was because it totally changed the look of the cardigan into more of a jacket. My husband tried to warn me that’s what would happen but I did it anyway. I just wanted her to have something to cover her head from the cool air breezes however I love the cardigan look. I frogged the whole thing and decided she’ll just have to wear a hat when needed. I might give this another whirl one day on another project but for now I love it the way it is. 😁

Thanks again to @neumannsalva for such a lovely easy to follow pattern!

5C555335-8580-4CDD-8909-1B94C74AA9A0.jpeg

If you are interested in learning how to crochet I am currently doing a beginner crochet series called ’Crochet with CroSheille’!!! Here is a list of the episodes you can watch and learn in your free time:

Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Episode 4

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

Please check out @needleworkmonday’s Upcycle Challenge!

#NeedleWorkMonday by @crosheille

#NeedleWorkMonday Co-Chair @crystalize

Thanks for Visiting!

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

2E940DF1-243A-4602-A46D-C24FD53880A5.gif

6E2202BE-CB8E-4DD3-ADAD-BE7D29909A84.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

It turned out so cute! It will look great with several different colors of shirts and little pants. Of course she could wear it with a little dress! I'm so glad you posted on Tuesday! It was quite disappointing to have Steemit down almost all of our Monday!

Thank you very much! I am pleased with how it turned out and how it fits her. I look forward to mixing and matching her outfits with it!

Oh yes it went out right while I was in the process of finishing this post. I figured needleworkmonday will just have to be on a Tuesday instead. 😉

I just one second ago wrote on the @needleworkmonday post, that I have missed post because of the blockchain problems, and oh no, I notice you have finished your cardigan and I missed it : noooooooooooo
I love the cardigan with the pockets. It is so cute <33333 and both options are good, one pocket is more cute for me, like a application and two pockets remind me more of an adult and practical cardigan. I fear you have to decide on your own :-DDD
And with the hood. I think I remember to have made one for my good friends Christianes baby boy:
https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sommerfell/bear-hooded-cardigan
I think the first row was : ch 3, 2dc in next st, dc in each of next 2sts and the following rows were only dc, then I folded it into a half and made a middle seam. But I found the hoodie very bulky. My friend wanted one, but I would not make it again.

Thank you so much for your feedback! I like your idea of liking the one pocket better, that makes great sense. Hmmmm...I’ve got some thinking to do now.

Awesome thanks for the link, I’ll check it out. Yes that’s why I was afraid the hood would totally change the look...as @tali72 stated above it would become a jacket. I will try it another time perhaps on an actual jacket lol!

I’m glad you liked the pockets! 💗

Hello @crosheille, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for your kinds and generous support! It is greatly appreciated! 😃

Great cardigan - whether with one or two pockets ;)

And while a hood would have been nice a hat will be nice too! I have no idea how to crochet such a hood. Perhaps short rows might be an answer.

Thank you so much! I’ll have to look into the hood option more. I didn’t have a lot of time to play around with it so that is definitely something I’ll have to revisit later.

Very good job@crosheille wonderful photography post I like this photography and I appreciate your beautiful creativity thanks for sharing this post

Those pockets came out super cute!
Good job!♥

Thank you!!!

Wow @crosheille! This is some truly impressive knit-work!
Well done, this is amazing... and kinda looks like 49ers colors :)

Thank you so much! I appreciate your support and encouraging comment! Lol I hadn’t thought of that but the colors are similar! 😄

Hello this is soooo cute!!!i always wish i coukd have the patience to do crochet... it is just not for me but my grd ma always knit some beautiful cardigans for my daughter it is just so special to have a handmade one:)such a lovely present.

Thank you so very much!! I agree...it is very special having handmade items with love~ 😊

with yellow trim and two pockets, the cardigan looks very nice. I really love bright colorful children's things. childhood is a time of serenity and clothing of this type emphasizes this. It's a pity that it did not work to make a hood - it would be really very practical. but you're right, it would be a jacket :)

Thank you Tala!

I agree... one or two pockets look great both ways, @crosheille...

(I personally think that you gave up too soon with that hood; it just needed a bit of length and then sewing :D)

I'll hopefully have more time to post next Monday as both @tinygalaxy and @mivstar are leaving for uni over the weekend... Gosh, we'll miss them and this baby cardigan reminds me how tiny they once were !

Thanks @cryptocariad! Haaa I agree with you. I didn’t have a lot of time to work out the hood. When I tried it on her I didn’t like the way it was looking and got frustrated so I called it a fail. I’m sure if I would have taken more time I would have figured it out. I’ll revisit it another time and hopefully finish all the way. I am learning something about myself...I’ve gotten so comfortable with patterns that it’s getting harder and harder to trust myself to come up with my own. I always feel defeated and give up. 😞 I’ve gotta work on this.

Awww! Yes they grow too fast. I’ll be in your shoes one day looking back on these young days.

It's disheartening to venture into the unknown, @crosheille. The pockets you made look very good though and you even wrote the pattern, so don't give up !

This is why I’m glad to be surrounded with people that understand me. It is very disheartening and scary. I want to have that confidence in myself to know that I can do it. Making the pockets on my own was very rewarding. 😊 Thank You for reminding me of that. ☺️

I really appreciate your encouragement~ ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76