NeedleWorkMonday - Sewing Class

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

FD01F9A1-09CA-4B21-83DC-C6B83D96A09F.jpeg

Yay it’s #NeedleWorkMonday again! I really look forward to this day where I can share what I love to do and see what others are up to in their creative corners! Every week I am getting new ideas from you all! Keep up the great inspiring work!!

I wanted to update you on how sewing class has been going. My daughter started another pillow for her cousin! This time it’s a pretty flower fabric!

7DF284B7-5789-45CA-83C3-5BE814EAD422.jpeg

And off to cutting and pinning again she goes!

0C070ACC-FACA-4C47-BF50-28B8D234DC1D.jpeg

Then on to sewing!

ED68C1D4-55CF-4CD8-8C45-F54E207DAE92.jpeg

I am proud to report this round came much easier for her. She decided to make three of these bears before moving on to something new. I think it’s a good idea because becoming familiar with this process will give her practice, more understanding and boost her confidence as she improves. I’m really excited to see her moving along :D

8DAAE1C9-6DA4-46EF-AA6E-1A76A365E33E.png

Me on the other hand, it’s going...slowly but going.

Here’s the neck opening I had to sew around before adding on the collar.

FC122941-2D4A-4B6D-86DC-F8B74D04D80C.jpeg

0B0A203F-7E80-46D0-AEAC-CF44472337BE.jpeg

42D7A7B2-83DF-40E6-A681-8F1879525779.jpeg

There were a few open parts I didn’t stitch together that well but it wasn’t a huge deal that would affect the finish so I left them.

140BD565-84EF-4C8C-A301-F6B7A946A34B.jpeg

15E689C1-C61F-4A1D-965E-3E59E895E52D.png

Here is the collar pinned and ready to sew!

4A50517C-9356-4A52-B571-192C3EA7CAEF.jpeg

All sewn up!

80F3738E-524C-4405-AD05-38AD65A9EA14.jpeg

My mom gives me a chance to try to figure out the pattern on my own first before she steps in to help. Lol she always has to step in and help! 😂

I couldn’t figure out how to pin the collar along the neckline per the pattern. I watched her do it as she explained and then it made sense.

Here it is pinned to the neckline...

BFECB500-37E1-4D89-8B20-D1ED8DE04ADC.jpeg

It’s coming together! 😃

99B465C9-3C9A-4582-9C76-6BFDC9AF412B.jpeg

2CD5140F-5A8F-4A99-AE70-80BC6685CA34.jpeg

Sewing the collar on now!

F89AF552-F2D5-4E62-9E6D-63BA44FEF26B.jpeg

Next class my daughter will be stuffing her second bear and I will be sewing along the sides of the bunting!

I decided since my baby girl (8 months old now) has outgrown this project, I’ll be sewing her this cute little pants set for this Summer! I won’t be doing the hat though. I’ll most likely crochet her a matching headpiece :)

F72990C4-1530-4C42-9220-BDCF8D2019A0.jpeg

7FCF45F0-20AF-4C39-9A2B-3147930ED1EF.png

Well that’s all for this class session! Until we meet again pick up a needle or hook and have a blast!!!

🧵🧶

Thanks for Joining Our Class!

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

#NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille
Helping to host are @muscara, @shanibeer and @marblely

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

60068819-057B-4483-A075-C8DCF5443E8C.gif

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

526C421F-0293-4B68-8ECE-574CE43B8DC3.jpeg

765675CB-72C5-4F23-807D-BB7FBF8150DE.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

This is so exciting to see your daughter sewing. Three generations, amazing! Those bears are so cute, she's giving them to her cousins? Too sweet! Looove your fabric, this really makes me want to sew again. I guess I could make baby clothes for my grandson, hmmmm. Great inspiration @crosheille :)

Thank you! It is really exciting thinking about three generations! I am blessed to be able to do this with my mom and daughter. Yes her younger cousin asked her to make one after seeing the first bear she made. 😊 You should sew again! I’d love to see what you’d make! So glad you feel inspired! Yay! 😃

That's really great work together, @crosheille.

I have a burning question though which will show you my lack of resources / knowledge / ignorance / thirst for learning - I will stop there for now.

The first photo of the bear being cut shows a transparent pattern to follow. It seems to be almost like 'glued' and ready to be cut around.

Can you tell me about that please? I haven't seen that before for patterns. I have heard of but never used 'Solvy' for tracing embroidery patterns and wonder whether or not it's something similar.

Thanks !

Hey @cryptocariad! Thank you!

I love your thirst for learning and so glad you asked. Sometimes I feel the same way when asking questions. I’m like I want to ask but think to myself “should I know this?” That’s the beauty of us learning from each other.

The transparent bear pattern was actually part of the stuffing bag. She cut it out, pinned it to the fabric and then cut around it. It’s like a bonus! You buy the stuffing and get the free pattern with it! 😊

Pure genius, @crosheille... I do think there's a potential market for a Solvy style printed pattern that dissolves after the item is sewn :D

I just looked up these solvy patterns and think they are pretty cool! I didn’t know they existed!

Its so cool that you and your daughter spend time together with such creative projects :)

Thank you! We really do enjoy it.

Thats great family time is always so important, and its great to see children spending time of real crafts and not mobile devices and games

I totally agree! I love seeing our kids actually using their brains and developing skills :)

I get frustrated when I see our grandkids on devices so much, but when we are there I try and do fun things with them so they get at least a break from them

Love the flower fabric for the bear pillow! So proud of your daughter @crosheille! She is going places with sewing for sure :) And you with the collar, wow! It looks like a nice mandarin collar. Love the fabric :) The pants are going to be a fun project to make too :)

Thank you @marblely! That is so nice of you to say. I believe she’s going places with sewing too. I had no type of interests as these when I was her age, I’m just amazed how well she has taken this on. I’m sure hoping everything will turn out right with the bunting, especially since I plan to gift it to someone else now. I look forward to making the pants outfit and adding my crochet touch. I’ve always wanted to sew and add crochet embellishments to the finished items :)

I'm hoping that the baby will not outgrow the pant set before you get some uses out of it! The project looks great, I love the polka dot pattern on the fabric. And your daughter's bear is going to be such a nice gift!

Ha ha I sure hope she doesn’t outgrow it either. It might be the case where my grandkids might be the first to actually wear what I sew! 😄 Maybe I just need to make things two sizes bigger and out of season, then she’ll most likely be able to wear them.

Thanks so much, I’m excited to see the end result. My daughter is excited to gift her bear! 😊

I think this is so cool that all three generations are involved in the sewing classes! Some of my best times have been with crocheting or sewing with my girls. Both of them have moved on to quilting and left me behind because I'm a terrible quilter, although terrible isn't the correct word maybe slow is the word I'm looking for! I love how you pin the collar and I can actually say that I used to have trouble with sleeves until my mother showed me. All you have to do is see it one time and a little light clicks on for you.

Those little stuffed pillows that your daughter is making for her cousin are adorable! I love the top stitching on them. You girls are really tearing it up! Thank you so much for bringing us your creativity and I will say that when my girls were eight months old, I used to get one yard of material and make a dress that was so easy and required so little work. I wish you well and I am taking this home with me.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Thank you so much for such a heart warming comment! It’s so great that you got to craft with your girls too! Those times are so special. I have yet to learn quilting, my mom wants me to learn but I’m in no hurry lol. That’s kind of what’s happening for me, once my mom shows me something it eventually clicks and makes more sense.

Thanks so much! I’m enjoying watching how much fun she is having. Hey I love that idea! I could just get some material and make a simple dress without a pattern. I want to learn how to sew with and without one. Thanks for sharing that idea and thank you so much for the tip and resteem! I always enjoy your visits :)

It is always a pleasure!!! Truly!

🎁 Hi @crosheille! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

That bunting is coming along beautifully, it already looks cosy and warm. I like the pants set - very cute. Your daughter's confidence oozes, oozes, out of those photographs, you can see she has taken to it!

Thanks @shanibeer! I’m getting anxious to finish it.

Yes her confidence and passion for learning this has really inspired me. I’m in awe watching her every week. Makes me wish I was more like her when I was younger then I wouldn’t be in this boat (learning how to sew at 37 lol). I would be sewing designer fashion by now!

esta bellisimo, te felicito

Gracias 😊

Your daughter is so brave! I would break out in a sweat while sewing so many curves, but she simply does it - wow. And the pillow with its flowery fabric will be amazing.
But you toooooo, your bunting is so cute and you managed the neckline which is always a bit tricky. I especially like that it has this curved form (I don’t know the right term for it).
And your new project is even more cute. I am looking forward to you posting about it. I only once tried out to make ruffles on the sewing machine and it went - ahem - not too well 😂😂😂 WHile seeing your cute dress and top with the ruffles, I think I will give the ruffles another try.
Happy sewing 🥰😘

Lol sometimes she scares us how fast she tries to go. We’re like whoa hey slow down and watch those fingers! 😰😅 Thank You! Once I saw the collar coming along I got more excited, I love the style of it! It might take me a few times to be able to sew something like this on my own. I can’t see myself figuring this out on my own right now. I am looking forward to trying out the second outfit. I am going to go for the pants and shirt for now and then maybe later try out the dress. Someone gave me the idea to get fabric and make a simple dress. I do want to learn how to make things without a pattern too!

As I have never made pants, I am looking forward to your experiences.
And with this sewing without pattern... I am still willing to learn it, but I also find it much more difficult as it involves math and I think I need a better understanding of 3D forms in space (meaning: how to fit my curves in something straight 😂 )

Math 😑...I am horrible at math and this is what will hold me back.

Lol you’re hilarious! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87