#needleworkmonday : new yarn and an infinity scarf using the Tunisian crochet knit stitch - 031218

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have been really busy doing lots of driving and visiting @tinygalaxy in Swansea and then driving to and from Llandovery... It's not been very needlework-friendly in the dark ...

So I was over the moon when @pennsif bought me some treats to cheer me up. Here's one of the presents :


That's right, no worries ! It's only 100% acrylic, but as soon as I saw that ball of loveliness I thought the best course of action was to just find 'googly eyes'... I now need to find a pattern for it although I'm tempted just to stick the eyes on :D

I have also been making a scarf for @jen0revision. She likes this yarn and stitch to have an infinity scarf.

I was testing the Tunisian knit stitch because the sides lie flat. The piece does roll a lot hence the crochet hooks on the sides keeping it taught for the photo. For the infinity scarf I will just sew the ends together.


When you have picked up all the stitches, it looks like this :

I need to get a longer hook at some point :D

The clearest video I can recommend if you would like to try this stitch is the Crochet Crowd.

Thanks for reading !



work by @cryptocariad



With thanks to @crosheille and @needleworkmonday for hosting

Sort:  

So so fluffy @cryptocariad and isn't googlyeyes fun?!! :) Fluffy looks really cute :D The scarf's yarn colours are very pretty too. Tunisian stitch looks fun to do.

Thanks, @marblely... The tunisian knit stitch is so surprising : it doesn't really stretch and the sides remain flat !

OMG IT'S SO FLUFFY I'M GONNA DIE!!

heh... sorry for the all-caps there, but it has to sound reallly excited!

You could do me a huge favor and edit the tag #GooglyEyes to your post, I'd love to see this run in the competition :D

Done ! Thank you very much for your support, @googlyeyes :D

awesome... thanks!

If it is fluffy and has eyes only caps will do :-D

Love it the scarf is beautiful and you killed two birds with one stone needle work and GOOGLY eyes

Thank you, @brittandjosie... the scarf has grown since I put those photos... I'll post an update soon :D
The googly eyes are fun !!!!

GOOGLY eye the scarf and enter needleworkmonday with an update and the GOOGLY eyes contest at the Same time I am sponsoring too 😉

Thank you for your support and encouragement, @brittandjosie :D

It has eyes!!!!!! soo cute! It is alive... perhaps you should not knit or crochet it but build a little hut with a bed and so for it. (I am not sure how yarnballs are fed and cared for...) I just now notice that I cannot resist anything that has fur and eyes (and sometimes fur is enough as I love tribbles which does not have visible eyes)
And with the Tunisian crochet. I still have an unfinished shawl lying around, as I find Tunisian crochet tough for my hands. But I love the woven appearance of the standard Tunisian stitch. The knit stitch is new for me and it looks good with the multicolour yarn (it will be a beautiful present). Here you seldom get long Tunisian hooks, but more often the hooks have cables. Not sure which of both is more comfortable to work with.

:D Tribbles! I didn't want to sound too 'Trekkish', @neumannsalva :D

The yarn's fluffy and so soooft ! I'm currently thinking 'sloth' and if there's any left 'alpaca' ...

Sorry to hear that tunisian crochet makes your hands sore. I can see why though as you just work with the long(ish) metal 'needle'... no ergonomics...

The photo below's not so good, but I really like the 'textured effect' on the wrong side...

I agree! This little creature needs a small house and a bed and feeding bowl, @cryptocariad!

:D... May just do that and not knit it or crochet it at all, @shanibeer... it's a shame to 'disturb' it .

Love the chinchilla! lol

hee hee hee what a funny yarn !!!! :)))) This is a wonderful gift !!!!! I read a lot about Tunisian knitting but I did not try it myself.

Tunisian crocheting reminds me a lot about knitting... I thoroughly recommend giving it a go, @tali72


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh that yarn looks so soft and cuddly!

I love the colours in the scarf, that make it so much more versatile to go with more colours of jackets.

And that’s a great idea to prevent rolling.

Thanks for sharing your work.

Thank you for your comments and support, @thistle-rock

I love your new yarn with the googly eyes. XD

It's a pity to crochet it or knit to be honest, @phoenixwren... it's like 'ready-made'...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87