That'll do pig, that'll do - tiny crochet amigurumi pig - 070119

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I found this clear ‘all-in-one’ amigurumi pig crochet pattern by chance - @mivstar called it a 'nano pig'.

The pattern is extremely clear but as I had to stop so many times while making it I got a bit lost and so I varied the size of the snout and length of the body - I do not mind though.

The ears and feet are all crocheted as you go so you don’t have to sew them afterwards. I am sure I could also include the tail in the pattern without having to ‘go back’ to finish it.

These two photos show you how the ears are made.

These photos show you how the feet are crocheted as you go.

I feel there are many variations one could make - other animals and also add different colour stitches or heart designs on the sides of the pig.

I used a size 2.5mm crochet hook and 4 ply yarn. In hindsight it would have been easier to use thicker yarn and crochet hook, but I like a challenge.

@naomipangolin wrote an interesting post with a beautiful illustration. The post is mainly about how 2019 is either the year of the hog or the year of the pig.

That's @tinygalaxy holding a piglet while on a family course on how to look after pigs some years ago.



all (good and bad) photos and work by @cryptocariad



#NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille
Hosted by @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely and @crosheille

Sort:  

What a cute little piggy! I'm in love! 😍🐷🐖❤

It turned out cute, @romeskie ❤️🐷❤️

Fun mini project! And so cute too!

It's a 'nano' pig, @jamethiel :D

Aaawww the piggy is so cute @cryptocariad! Such a perfect pattern for the lunar new year of the pig. Thank you!! Love the piggy in the mug :)

That's a very cute little creature. Very endearing.

It's the sort of thing that would distract me :) I was reminded of @mrscwin's little Easter creatures. I liked @naomipangolin's post, too - stark reminder.

Very stark reminder indeed, @shanibeer.

'By chance', on Facebook I keep seeing posts on how one should choose 'natural' materials, ie wool, over artificial yarns :(

Pigleeeet <3
The crocheted and the real one are both cute!!
Love it.

Awesome! So cute and the real life model too ha ha

Oh no, too cute, want it, words are missing because of cute 🐖❤❤❤❤
The little tail and the tiny ears. This is soooo cute. (Ok your daughters real pig is just as cute)
And so fitting with the year of the pig. This will bring you luck (perhaps because you will be happy each time you look at your über cute creation)

I will gladly send it to you, @neumannsalva. I don't know your address but you're welcome to send me a message on discord with it.
It's been really great to be part of this community and as it's all a bit uncertain these days, it's little things that bring us joy and keep us going. I enjoy making things.

Oh yeeees <3 <3 <3 This would be great. Your little pig (the nano pig :-D) is so lovely and as you already know I am to impatient and clumsy to make such tiny animals myself. I already showed the nano pig to my husband (who shares my love for such cute animals)

I will write you on discord

hee hee hee :)))) what a ridiculous amazing pink pig !!!!! great !!!! you need to put her eyes and participate in a new competition :))))

Thanks, @tali72.
I 'll leave the competition to the professionals as my last photo with eyes drew some negative feedback so that affected my confidence - I am really sensitive in real life :D

negative reviews ??????? you really surprised me. there are no professionals, or more precisely, this platform for sharing our skills and ideas. professionals on other sites where people really have a great level of skill. our platform is not for them. I am a very average master at all :)))) a lot of mistakes and inaccuracies in knitting. I am very sorry that tactless people have upset you. Cynthia is delighted with this idea and many girls also

I do not worry about it any more but it just explains why I will not take part, @tali72.

It's the cutest little pig I've ever seen @cryptcariad !
What a great little project, I'd say such amigurumi animals would make lovely gifts for children (and maybe adults as well?).

Thank you, @vliet. I enjoyed making it because there was really no finishing off besides the eyes - no placing of legs or anything... everything came out of the patterns :D
I hope your lovely crocheted dress is going fine.

That sounds like a beautiful melody - no finishing off :DDD
FInishing off is usually the part I don't look forward to...

Thanks for asking about the dress, it's coming along fine, almost finished one side, and soon onto the other one... how I wish I worked faster! But I want to take my time so as to avoid mistakes :)

Next time I think I'll go for a small amigurumi project with 'no finishing off elements' :-DDD

Better to be safe than sorry, @vliet... Take your time and enjoy the process :D

Tha`s definitely the kind of philosophy I subscribe to (when it suits me ) ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89