NEEDLEWORKMONDAY : CROSSBODY BAG (WIP)

Greetings steemit friends, crafters and needleworkers!

It's Monday and its time for #NeedleWorkMonday once again!

It was suggested by ate @jurich60 that if im gonna crochet a bag, i should use tiny cord instead of yarns. Her reason is that tiny cord is more durable compared to yarn. I never doubted her because I know that it was based on her experience. So I bought tiny cord. But the stores I went to last year only have few colors available. What I had in my mind that time is that Im going to make a tulip design bag like my coin purse. Since I only have a few choices I just bought 3 colors namely: maroon for the flower, green for the leaves and navy blue for my main color.

My idea of making a cross body bag was not made possible after I bought the tiny cords. Work comes in. Then orders for my beaded wallet came rushing in. Im still making the wallets lately but it was just yesterday that I wanted to switch from beadwork to crochet. It was just yesterday that I am eager to make that crossbody bag Ive been planning to make since last year.

This is my first time and I just want to make it simple. Just a bag that I could put my stuff if I go to places nearby. Cellphone and wallet most importantly. At first, I planned to alternately put the tulips after how many rows of blue. And just leave the opening with no zipper. But seeing the tiny cord that is left after I made 10 consecutive rows of double crochet stitches in blue..it seems it wont make it until the end. I will run out of blue tiny cord in time. So I changed my mind. After 10 rows of blue, I switch colors to 10 rows of maroon. After that switch to 10 rows of green maybe. And i will incorporate the tulips in the overlap(or what you may call it) part as a covering or closure.

For now, my crossbody bag is still a work in progress. Maybe next Monday I will be able to finish it. And I will give all the details on this bag in my next post.

I need also your comments and suggestions to my first attempt of making a bag. I know how to crochet but I only knew the basic. Im hoping that needleworkers would help me.

Special thanks to @crosheille for initiating #needleworkmonday and to @marblely, @muscara, @shanibeer for the support.

xoxo,

4/15/2019

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

nice colorway, how do you find tiny cord to crochet? Some Crochetist feedback, they do not like this material, hard to crochet. Thanks, my hands just okey using tinycord.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah its true..its hard compared to yarn..at first my left middle finger hurts..as my tension is tight..but Im still eager to finish this bag..thanks ate @jurich60 😊

Hi, @dizzyapple!

You just got a 1.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

wow, galing naman ng mga kamay niyo sis, sana next niyo gawin dress niyo hehe. katuwa

Thank you sis @zephalexia gusto ko tlga makagawa blouse, shawl ska bolero kaso need pa ako more practice hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

keri mo yan sis kasi marunong ka na ng mga paunang gawa hehe. ako gusto ko din yan matutunan

The colors you have chosen are bright and jewel-like. This is going to be a beautiful bag and I look forward to seeing it when finished. Your crochet is so even, mine always came out uneven and I finally gave up. Good job!

Congratulations @dizzyapple! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34