In Praise of "Automatic Projects" in Knitting

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Neon_Hat_small2.jpg

The hats pictured here take a couple of hours at most and offer no real challenge for me. I make them because sometimes you just need to knit--not follow a chart, carry around a book of instructions, think too hard--just knit. I always have one of these hats on some needles.

Hats can be given as gifts, donated to the needy, and kept for family use. 2 strands of worsted-weight yarn on size 11 US needles in 2 by 2 ribbing makes a warm hat at lightning speed. I make them in reflective yarn for nighttime dog walking, in 2 colors for a tweed look, in multiple leftovers to use up stash yarn, etc.

Do you have a "go-to" pattern when you need a simple, portable project for waiting at the doctor's office or a child's piano lesson? Share with us!

Sort:  

My "project-to-go" are socks. Toe up, two at a time like these in the image. Though I prefer to knit two-coloured socks as a single because dealing with four skeins is a bit much ;)

I love these socks! I did the 2 at a time once, but I still go back to one at a time on dpns--like you, I like colorwork and that's just too many strands to get tangled.

When I'm not doing knitting or crocheting, I can be sewing or drawing or gardening... I love making things but find it hard to concentrate on one thing at a time @fiberfrau...
Those hats look nice and warm !😊

I love how thick and cozy these look! I agree with you...sometimes I just want to crochet without worrying about following instructions. Just plain oh crocheting to help me relax and unwind :)

Yes, I try to always have at least one hard project and one easy project going. Then I can choose which one is best for the bits of time I have.

That’s really a smart plan to have!! Love it!

I like the hat @fibrefrau it looks really cool although since I cant really knit I thought it would be a lot of work to accomplish, so my go to for unwinding is actually writing, or reading

They are cute💚 and winter will be here in no time.. keep it up.

As I am cardigan addicted I always make simple top-down raglan cardigans (knitted or crochet, I love both). When knitting, I use simple stockinette and make the border in garter stitch. So, I have a project which is completely mindless for many many rows. The only problem is, that I often find the second sleeve so boring, that I do not finish (ok... eventually I finish, but mostly much later than the rest)
Your hats are super practical and also a good idea for a not too complicated pattern 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09