Needle working, and a gift from the gods.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Our lives are woven whether we choose to be or not. If you exist you have an impact.

I don't venture past my front door too often.

Yesterday I did. Just after posting my newbie crocheting efforts for #needleworkmonday.

What should I find, literally out the front of my home?

A treasury of hard cover books!

PSX_20180515_113320.jpg

Along with a bag of different textured wool to experiment with.

PSX_20180515_113233.jpg

Someone in my apartment building put it out, and I brought it back in again.


This week the streets will be an upcyclers / pickers paradise.

We are heading toward our annual council clean up. While it is officially a garbage collection, it has turned into a municipal swap meet.

People put out any number of items, both garbage and treasure, and their neighbours pick through.

IMG_20180515_103646.jpg

Here is a sampling, as the week progresses the piles will grow.

IMG_20180515_104428.jpg

Serious pickers come from out of area with their trailers.

Yesterday my mother claimed a bike and a sandpit for my son. Happy Birthday! 😂

I inherited the bowerbird affliction from her.

I hate seeing anything that is reuseable end up in land fill.
Especially if it could have been donated to a charity shop to be sold, reused and the profits going to a community cause.

Furniture, books, bags of good quality clothing laundered and folded. I am shameless about my scavenging. I did get a disapproving look from one person during the last clean up. She had left the equivalent of 5 wardrobes worth of clothing in the street, out the front of her 2 million dollar home. I don't care, as I said, I am shameless.

I recall it was starting to rain. In my mind, she was the one who should have been ashamed to be throwing away usable items. A charity store 2 streets away that could have made hundreds of dollars from her refuse.

I made this bag from her trousers.😆

PSX_20180118_163401.jpg

I made hats from her knit wear too.

IMG_20180515_121938.jpg

IMG_20180515_121921.jpg

I should thank her. She prompted me to think about how we live and to make contact with @azizbd in syhlet. A number of the kids in the slums are wearing the wool from her clothing, repurposed into hats.

IMG_20171217_082234.jpg

IMG_20171217_082315.jpg

IMG_20171217_082302.jpg

Our lives are all connected with ripples of encounters. What we make of those encounters is completely up to us.


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

Your handbags are really creative. it looks like your hand has a recycle talent

I like this post @girlbeforemirror. Wherever we are we can make a difference 🌺

Oh my goodness, what an wonderful thing😍!! I always love to discover treasure in what others are not interested. And how you recreat bag and hats, helping children... amazing👏👏👏

Oh my, such an interesting concept that everyone put out their 'old' for a council cleanup. I would find it hard to walk down the street without coming home with furniture- my garage is full of upcycling projects - mainly chairs.
Have you sent the pictures of the hats to the lady who threw out her clothes? She might not realise what a difference her 'rejects' have made, and she might think about a better way to recycle her old clothes . The children in the hats is a wonderful image to share.

We live in a two bedroom unit. We have 3 coffee tables and... Too many chairs. I scored two art deco shelves last time too. 😂

Ooooo love a bit of art deco

Finding those magazines is a sign that you should be doing some crochet! Too kismet. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

Wonderful way to honor life, appreciated @girlbeforemirror. I hope that health has returned and your well-being will grow with the passing of days. I breathe in energies of healing so that the universe compensates you and allows you to get out of the disease.

Those hats are sooo cool!!!

This is awesome! It's always such a pleasure to see this kind of upcycling - there's no shame in that! Your new creations look better than the originals anyway :p

Well, that brightened my night. You are amazing, GBM. Making all those hats and sending them off to keep children warm. Bless you:)

My mum made most of them. I scavenged the resources. She is a knitting dynamo.

You two make a great team:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30