My Happiest Sewing Project to Date: Making a Playhouse [ENG-IND]

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

image

Hello my dearest friends,

How are you today? I hope this post finds you well. I do not have any new sewing project to show you as I am away from my home for the next few weeks. Instead, in this post, I'd like to talk about a sewing project that makes me really happy and excited. I can say that this project is my happiest sewing project since the first time I started to sew.

Halo semua, apa kabar? Semoga sehat ya. Hari ini saya tidak punya jejahitan baru yang bisa saya tampilkan karena saya sedang tidak berada di rumah selama beberapa minggu ke depan. Sebagai gantinya saya ingin cerita tentang sesuatu yang saya jahit yang membuat saya sangat bahagia. Bisa dibilang, ini adalah jejahitan yang membuat saya paling bahagia sejak pertama kali saya mengenal dunia jahit menjahit.

The project is making a playhouse, a sweet playhouse. I made this playhouse back in 2012 when I was in a small island to accompany my husband who happened to work there. The reason I was working on this project because I needed to kill time as living in a small island was completely boring. Not much to see, not much to do. At that time I had a 2 yo daughter and she did not have many toys to play with. I was then stumbled upon an article on the internet about a mother who made a playhouse for her kids. I thought it's kinda cute and sweet to be able to make toys for our children with our own bare hands. So I wanted to give it a try because I thought the toy would last long and could be used when my first daughter had younger sisters or brothers. The theme of the playhouse was a sweet shop.

Jejahitan yang saya maksud adalah membuat rumah-rumahan. Saya membuatnya tahun 2012 saat saya tinggal di sebuah pulau kecil saat menemani suami saya yang kebetulan bekerja di tempat itu. Alasan saya membuat proyek ini karena hidup di sana sangat membosankan, tidak banyak yang bisa dilihat dan dikerjakan. Saat itu saya punya anak perempuan berumur 2 tahun dan dia tidak punya mainan di sana. Lalu kebetulan saya melihat sebuah artikel tentang seorang ibu yang membuat rumah-rumahan untuk anaknya. Saya pikir bagus juga bisa membuat mainan dengan tangan kita sendiri. Jadi saya bertekad membuatnya karena saya pikir mainan ini akan awet, bisa dipakai adik-adiknya nanti. Sedangkan tema untuk rumah-rumahannya adalah toko permen.

image

Actually, I was a little bit doubtful because of the size, 90cmx100cm. This size was quite intimidating for me because I did not have a sewing machine at that time. But I decided to go on. I wanted to challenge myself if I was able to bear with this project.

Sebenarnya saya ragu-ragu untuk mengerjakannya karena ukurannya lumayan besar yaitu 90x100cm sebab saya kan tidak punya mesin jahit waktu itu, jadi terbayang lamanya menjahit tangan. Tapi saya nekad saja, hitung-hitung sebagai tantangan terhadap diri sendiri.

image

So I went to local fabric shops and only managed to find average quality of fabrics. I started to calculate the measurement, making sure the windows were in the precise locations. Then I started to sew the longest parts such as the corners, windows, and door. It was tiring and somewhat boring to sew them because I have never sewn that much by hands.

Lalu saya pergi ke toko kain tapi hanya menemukan kain dengan kualitas seadanya. Ya sudahlah. Sampai di rumah saya mulai menghitung untuk memastikan letak jendela dan pintu tidak melenceng. Lalu saya mulai menjahit bagian yang panjang seperti sudut-sudut, jendela dan pintu. Bagian ini melelahkan dan membosankan karena lama sekali. Maklum jahitnya pakai tangan.

image

Then came the most interesting part: decorating! Whoo hooo!! I made use of felt and assorted scrap fabrics and threads with different colors. To display what the shop was sold, I made cupcakes and lollipops from felt fabric and sewed them at the bottom of the windows.

Akhirnya tiba saat yang paling seru: dekorasi! Saya memakai kain flanel dan perca kain lainnya dengan berbagai warna. Untuk display tokonya, saya membuat kue dan lolipop lalu menjahitnya di bagian bawah jendela.

image

image

For the frames, I used PVC pipes.

Untuk kerangka, saya memakai pipa PVC.

image

I was sooo happy when the project was completed. I just couldn't believe that I managed to make my dream come true. But I felt something was still missing. I needed to make play foods for pretend play so my daugther and I could sell and buy stuff from the shop. So, then I was having fun with felt and here are what I made.

Senang sekali rasanya saat proyek ini sudah selesai. Saya hampir tidak percaya saya bisa membuat mainan ini. Tapi saya merasa ada yang kurang. Saya perlu membuat makanan mainan untuk permainan jual beli. Jadi saya membuatnya dari kain flanel.

image

I was even more happy when everything was completed. And of course, my daughter was very thrilled to have such a cute playhouse. All my hard work for two weeks was finally paid off to see her smiling all the time. I was very proud of myself, for sure! It was such a fun and phenomenal project in my sewing history :D

Makin senang rasanya setelah semua benar-benar sudah selesai. Tentu saja anak saya girang bukan kepalang, membuat semua letih dan kerja keras selama dua minggu terbayar sudah. Saya bangga bisa membuat proyek jejahitan yang fenomenal sepanjang sejarah jahit menjahit saya.

image

Until today, the playhouse is still in a good condition and my kids love to play with it. Right I was, the toy lasts long.

Sampai sekarang, mainan itu masih dalam kondisi bagus dan anak-anak saya suka sekali bermain dengannya. Jadi betul, mainannya awet.

image

How about you? What is your happiest craft project to date?

Bagaimana dengan teman-teman, proyek craft apa yang paling membuat bahagia?

Thanks for stopping by and reading. I hope this post gives you an inspiration.

Terima kasih sudah singgah dan membaca tulisan ini. Semoga bisa memberi inspirasi.

Please follow @horazwiwik

Sort:  

Mau dong dibuatin 1.. Cakeeep bangeet. 😍😍

Makasiih....hahaha, udah rada kapok bikin ini, ribet dan lamaaa ...😂😂

This is so fun, I bet your daughter loves it. I love homemade items like this. You can see the love that went into it. What do you plan to make next?

Thanks, @thriftymum, yeah, homemade items are all made with love.

What I plan next? Hmm, no idea yet as I am away from home now, so I cannot think of any craft project.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

This is the cutest handmade kids house!! This is quite massive work for hand sewing! You are such an inspiration! I love the sweets theme and all of the food and decorations you felted. I would have loved something like this as a kid! 😍

Thanks for sharing ~

Many thanks, @crosheille! Me too, I would have loved to have one as a kid hahaha..
I am glad I was very persistent to work on this massive project. It's really worth it.

It looks very worth it!! Many years of fun and happy moments for your children! 😊

That is so cute! You put so much work into it and I am glad that it can still be used. I never woukd have thought of making something like that. Very nice work!

Thanks a lot @jamethiel! Yeah, a playhouse is a long lasting toy. Each kid should have one :). It sparks their imagination while having fun playing with it.

WOOOOOW This is unbelievable. Me only sewing skirts cannot imagine someone finishing such a big project. Ever. And without a sewing machine. My words are missing….
This project is great. I will send this post later to a good friend who has 1-year old son and loves to sew for him. I think this will encourage and inspire her. You really tackled everything, the windows with curtains, the beautiful lollipop applications, and the toys in form of ice-cream cones and bonbons. This is really amazing, and I can understand very well that your children love this sweet-shop. 💕💕

Thank you soo much for your lovely comments, @neumannsalva! Until today, sometimes I cannot believe that I was able to work on such a big project without a sewing machine. I am glad I was very persistent. It is really worth it.

Yes, please pass this post to your friend. I hope she will get inspired :)

Hai kakak adek @horazwiwik, lama tak bersua hehe. Ichsan sih yang lama ngilang. Hehe

Postingannya membantu ibu-ibu untuk kreatif.

Halo Ichsan, emang menghilang kemana lho, saya juga jarang-jarang kok beredar di steemit hahaha.

Gak kemana-mana kok kak Wik, sempat gak ngepost agak lama aja di Steemit. Baru-baru sekarang ini aja nonggol lagi.

It's your happiest sewing project, and now it's mine too. I have been impressed by such a beautiful project. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your lovely comment 😊

Ooo such a beautiful playhouse @horazwiwik! And with all the intricate details of decoration and all its "sweets". I remembered how I used to ❤️ playing shop in school selling "burgers" with rubbers and pencils as "sausages", selling empty drink boxes, etc. Your daughter is loving this I'm sure. She is soo lucky to have you as her mother!

Thanks for your lovely comment, @marblely! I would haved love to have one as a kid hahahha, playhouse is indeed a cool toy, it sparks creativity and imagination. And yes my daughter is so in love with this toy :)

Oh, that is adorable! And I love the photo with your even more adorable daughter in it. Such a clever idea, and you are amazingly talented in creating all the decorations and sweets!! I can't believe you hand sewed all that. I love it!

Thanks a lot for you beautiful comment. Hahaha, me nether, looking back, I can't believe I was able to work on this project. Luckily, I was very persistent. It is very worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17