Needleworkmonday 12-3-18 a colorful scarf

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Hello! The colorful scarf is slowly coming along! I was in Chicago last week and worked on it from time to time as well as on the flight home.
20181203_184612.jpg

I am really enjoying how the yarn's colors are working out in this particular piece. They remind me of a fall day in the mountains of Montana.
Here is another pic of the scarf from over the weekend-
20181126_202302.jpg

As you can see, I am not making a lot of progress with the scarf lately... that is because I have been reading a book and playing Skyrim when I am home...

20181203_184659.jpg
The book is interesting, it is about mapping the migration of humans by correlating their genetic mutations to different areas of the world. It also has had an interesting chapter about tracking languages as well. It was written before commercial genetic testing was available, so some information is outdated. But I am finding a lot of good information.

20181203_184750.jpg
Today my trainee and I flew to St Louis. We ended up with flight delays but at least this time we managed to get to our destination on the scheduled day! The Gateway Arch is pretty cool when viewed from the riverfront road, there was a lot of construction traffic so we decided to not get any closer.

I wanted to post this last week- a view of Chicago on Friday night as we flew out!
20181201_091812.jpg

Happy needleworkmonday!

Sort:  

Great photos, @jamethiel... Hope your trainee is also keen on fibre-related things :D

That book looks very interesting too !

My trainee doesn't seem to be much into the fiber arts, he likes running and math. :)
Thank you!

the scarf looks wonderful! It will be beautiful and bright. very beautiful night photo from a height

I remember the view flying into O'Hare at night. Spent 6 years in Chicago. Too cold there, though!

It definitely gets cold! I'm not sure if I could live there for long.

Ooh I like the colors of your scarf! How long are you planning on making it? I like long and skinny scarves, they're so nice. ^_^

I probably will try to use up most of the yarn, do another 2.5 feet or so. And it curls on the edges so it tends to be a bit skinny... :)

Wonderful photos! The last two could be stills from a sci-fi film... you know this kind of film, where aliens invade, and everything goes downhill very fast. I think I envisioned you on your flight to the crisis management with your personal assistant :-D
And the shawl is still lovely. The dark forest colours are beautiful (and I still imagine sweaters and cardigans in this yarn)

We are a bit surrounded by a post-apocalyptic world here in East St Louis. There are quite a few houses and buildings that are boarded up or in very poor condition. It can be a bit scary in some neighborhoods.
Me and my assistant... Lol! I wish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94