Needleworkmonday 3/4/2019 - starting a blanket

I finished the pastel dishtowel, but made the mistake of sending it home with @lordvdr so he will have to post a photo of it in his post tonight!

Then I started a new project, a circular swirl blanket that I found a pattern for on Ravelry.
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ten-stitch-twist

First you have to make a circle for the swirl to attach too:
20190303_110006.jpg

Then you start with short rows, slowly growing to 10 stitches wide and joining every other tow to the circle. I had to frog it twice before I figured out a method that worked for me.
20190304_131951.jpg

It has been so very cold here, we woke up to a temperature of -18 F (-27.7 Celcius) this morning and I watched the girls in the apartment next door throw hot water up into the air to make steam. So my MIL and I just did the same experiment and watched hot water turn into fog as it sublimated. It was very cool to try! But it is the extent of going outside that I have planned for now. :)

I am working from my MIL house while she recovers and currently my desk has this wonderfully sunny view-
20190304_142901.jpg

Happy needleworkmonday!

Sort:  

Gorgeous view! And best to stay indoors, that sounds sensible.
The swirl blanket sounds interesting, look forward to seeing it grow :)

Thank you and I am also looking forward to seeing it grow!

I will try to remember to get a picture of the towel posted tonight.

Thank you! ❤💜🧡💛💚💙❣❣❣

The swirl pattern is amazing! I directly looked it up on ravelry and the spiral looks gorgeous. But I must admit it looks complicated.
And your experiment....be careful, not that you change the climate in your room and produce a miniature greenhouse effect :-DDD

Making the first circle and starting the swirl were complicated. The rest falls into place once you get those figured out.
If I can warm up enough air here we might get above freezing for a few days! I can wish!

I just heard ‚complicated short rows‘ and I instantly was afraid :-DDD And with the weather... warm air we have enough, its only saturated with water :-DDD

Like everyone else, I am looking forward to watching the progress. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85