Knitting Needles are Allowed on the Plane

I am flying out today for a couple of reasons. I have to attend a funeral and I need to take care of some business. I prepared for the trip by putting my knitting paraphenalia for projects that I am working on in a small bag. I am working on the dreaded second sock that @neumannsalva so accurately described in one of her former posts. I was not aware of this phenomenon until I had to start the second sock. 😧

p5uz0noefz.jpg

I am going to be gone for about a week, so I packed additional projects so I wouldn't get bored. I packed at least 3 different circular needles, some made of metal and some made of wood. I also packed my miniature folding scissors that I take on the plane all of the time.

image

The problem is I also have my Canon 80 D in a photography backpack that holds my small Surface Pro and other related electronic equipment in addition to a large purse, a stainless steel water bottle and a book. At the last minute, I stuffed my knitting projects into my checked luggage. The gate agent told me that my knitting needles were allowed which I already knew, but I could not consolidate all of that stuff into one carry-on and a personal item.

image

Flying is the perfect time to knit or crochet and I usually work on projects while I fly. I also alternate reading a book on my Kindle app but on this particular occasion, I brought a paper book.

To make this long story shorter, I have no proof of progress for this post. 😕 I decided to let those of you know who may not travel that often that regular length knitting needles are allowed on flights in the United States. I was told that as long as you have your yarn with you then it is apparent that you are going to work on your project. There is the chance that a TSA agent can decide that you look funny and ask you to put your needles in your checked luggage. That has never happened to me though and I look funny some times. 😉

Have a great Monday.

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

You might have no problems - or you might meet a TSA guy with a sore tooth who tears your needle out of the half done lace shawl and throws it into the waste bin. You never know. Often your normal luggage is already processed when you pass security and gone and you have no chance putting your "dangerous" stuff away.
If you crochet: put a wooden crochet hook with your pens ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I fly with needles all the time, I lost a good pair of scissors to the TSA early on but have not had any issues in the last 10 years.

That's interesting to know. I asked about crochet hooks before and was told they were fine, but I usually check my knitting in with my hold luggage.

Oh, I am so sorry you must go to a funeral and I send you love and support. This is always so sad....
Hopefully the knitting will distract you a bit and help to feel at home in a different town. I seldom fly so I have no idea how they reaction would be in Germany if you bring your needles. Good to know it is no problem in the USA.
And the second sock... sigh.... We should make a club and rotate these second socks, so everybody knits a first, as it is not her own sock :-DDD

knitting while on flight is a good way to keep yourself busy and active because it makes us feel as if we are at home and doing our normal chore. Do enjoy your flight and have a funfil experience

Excellent review @jluvs2fly and you're right, doing your favorite thing in flight is very nice and good that knitting needles are allowed on the plane!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83