Socks a la carte 2 Toes up!

I am enjoying knitting my socks two at a time. It takes longer and I was tempted to just knit one sock at a time, but I decided to just take my time.

e19meftd5r.jpg

This effort will definitely be a longer than usual journey because of the other classes that I am currently taking at the senior center. I am taking Yoga, ceramic mold preparation, Intermediate Spanish, Introduction to Charcoal Drawing, Digital Photography and of course my weekly dance lessons.

26wtdrl1kw.jpg

I have to divide my time between all of these efforts because they are all important to me. I actually put my socks on hold once my classes started last week. I am at the point in the pattern where I just need to continue knitting in the round on both socks. The toes have been increased to twenty stitches on each side, but I am thinking of continuing to increase to twenty four stitches on each side.

531l2s47nc.jpg

My gauge is a little off, but my other socks were very loose, even though they were made from a heavier weight yarn. I am happy that I am advanced enough to make modifications to the pattern to fit my feet. I found a used book at the thrift store for $1.01 that I really like.

tlksxjcvr0.jpg
You can mix and match the styles, like this foot named a pedicure toe.

gxqlxq6bit.jpg

This book allows you to choose a different style for the foot, the body and the cuff. It is designed with pages that flip in those sections.

pv233cwysc.jpg

Once I finish the foot portion of my socks, then I will have some options to choose from if I don't want to make plain vanilla socks. Learning to knit has been a lot of fun. I'm grateful that I have been able to benefit from the helpful tips, and hints from the @needleworkmonday community.

I didn't have to sign up for the knitting class this quarter because I get just as much help from the knitters in this group. Have a wonderful day.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

It is so fun that you are taking all those lessons @jluvs2fly. That is one great center you have there. Do they offer the classes for free? And knitting 2 socks at the same time is cool. Love the colours on the yarn.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, the classes are free for senior citizens, that's why I can take so many.

Love your socks! They look great and knitting 2aat (two at a time) ensures that they are identical (for those that prefer them that way).

I envy your energy, you have time everywhere, even experimenting with socks.

You are so motivating @jluvs2fly! It’s great you are taking time for everything you love and enjoy. That sock book looks rather interesting. I hope it helps you with further ideas. I am glad to hear you have benefited from being apart of the @needleworkmonday community :) Thank You for all of your inspirations as well!

I look forward to watching you build the 2 socks together! The yarn is so pretty!

You are attending so many wonderful classes! May I ask which kind of dance you are doing? I perhaps have written this already, but I worked for years as a choreographer for Tanztheater ... so I am always curious about dance :-D
Your sock book was a steal. It seems to have many different options for personal combinations. And I am looking forward how your two-socks-at-once experiment will work out 😍

I am taking Chicago Stepping dance lessons. It is an "old school" couples dance. :)

Oh never heard! I have to research this... I am a big fan of all different styles of dancing (but no expert in couples dance, that’s the one big area I actually know near to nothing... a bit waltz or tango argentino but that’s it)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14