Vintage Embroidery Sewing MachinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I didn't know what I could post today since I haven't been working on my crafts this week. I have been working on my house. Maintenance issues on this house too. I plan to make my cross country drive back to my other residence very early in the morning, so I have been packing things to take, and putting things away for a season.

lt5hs6vkg4.jpg

15dwxuvvxz.jpg

I decided to take my old Singer XL 100 sewing machine back with me to my other house because I always have more time to myself at the other location. As I was getting all of the parts together to make sure that I would not accidentally leave anything, it occurred to me that someone in this community might be interested in embroidery sewing machines.

xdkvstj6ua.jpg

4j6y7gids2.jpg

wfwbsp9h3z.jpg

I have mentioned before in a previous post that I used to sew quite a bit when I was younger. This sewing machine at the time that I bought it was the top of the line Singer for embroidery. I remember that it caused an argument between my husband and I because he felt that it was too expensive. I was teaching full time and could afford it but my husband felt that it was frivolous. I found out later that his real complaint was that I bought it "first" and then told him about it later.

ta48blqlw1.jpg

This machine originally cost me either $1400.00 or $1100.00. I can't remember now but I agreed to take it back to the store. My husband told me that he would return it for me. As it turns out, he kept it in the trunk of his car for a week and then decided that if I really wanted the machine, that I could have it. He asked me to include him in large purchase decisions in the future whether I needed money or not. It made a lot of sense and I tried to accommodate his wishes most of the time in the future.

This machine was one of the first programmable embroidery machines on the market. It was made around 1984 or so. Can you believe that it still works and the LCD touch screen is still visible? Singer has always made quality sewing machines.

w0aelgtqa0.jpg

This machine came with built in stitches and patterns as well as several additional cards. Embroidery cards were available if you wanted to incorporate more designs. Today machines are much more affordable and the designs are computerized and downloadable from the Internet.

nb9bxexmi2.png

https://www.amazon.com/Brother-Embroidery-PE535-Touchscreen

You can now purchase a great embroidery sewing machine for less than $400 on Amazon. There have been a lot of advances in technology since the '80's that we take advantage of in our everyday lives. Well, I've got to get back to work. Hopefully, by next Monday, I will have an actual project completed. Happy crafting.

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

I love seeing vintage items! My mom would have loved this back then. She is now in the process of buying herself a new model as the one you shared from Amazon. That really says something about Singers quality and about the way you take care of your valuables ;)

My husband and I always discuss with each other before we buy things. It’s not necessarily saying we have to get permission from each other but it’s something we agreed to do out of respect of one another and being open and honest in our marriage as well as communicating effectively. We share accounts so either way we both see what’s being spent anyway lol. Every marriage is different but each has to come up with ways to compromise and do what works for them in order to keep peace and good communication. When I first got married I did something similar to you and boy oh boy was my husband heated. 😬 That’s great that you accommodate his wishes. 😊

Thanks for sharing ~

I was very young when I bought that machine. I’m older and wiser now. 😊 it truly is a matter of respect and considering the other person’s feelings. At the time however, it never crossed my mind that he would be upset over a purchase. You live, you learn. 😉

I’m glad that we live, learn and grow wiser ;)

Excellent review, my friend and I learned a lot about the sewing machine of this class, you are well versed in it! Thank you @jluvs2fly

My Aunt's pedal driven Singer sewing machine is in my son's garage. Wish I could get it to my house. It is amazing that you had the machine for so long and it still looks good.

I wonder if you could have it shipped to your home. My friend bought a huge kiln that arrived in a truck.

Would be really interesting to see a project made with this machine! I'd say it's so much quicker to embroider with a machine rather than by hand, especially if you are going to sell the items.

Oh those money arguments, they are usually about so much more than just a thing we've bought... :-)

You are absolutely right about money arguments. :)

Very useful thing in the house. Even now it will definitely be needed and will not be gathering dust. Thank you for sharing

I agree. I will be able to sew for my grandchildren.

Singer machines are some of the best that they have ever made.

Singer and Brother are good brands that I own, but I prefer Singer.

Singer and Brother
Are good brands that I own, but
I prefer Singer.

                 - jluvs2fly


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It's nice to bump into people who sew. My mother still so sews a lot and she gave me her old sewing machine that has cams that must be inserted to get the fanciest stitches! It's a little older than that one.

I actually have an old Singer zigzag machine that I bought from an estate sale. The children sold their mother’s sewing cabinet, and machine with all of the drawers filled with her notions and other supplies for $99.00. I bought it for the cabinet not realizing that the machine was in perfect condition. The owner had been a seamstress that sewed and made alterations for a living.

image

I got a fabulous vacuum cleaner the same way! These are the cams. The machine is a Kenmore model from around 1973, I think. It still works well but, wow, is it ever heavy!
IMG_7211.JPG

Those cams look very similar to the ones for the singer machine. That’s amazing.

Kenmore is/was the Sears house brand.

Ah, husbands ... glad you resolved your differences 😊
It is interesting to look at older machines and great that this one is in such fine working order. Hope you get a chance to use it over the coming weeks.

I plan to reacquaint myself with the embroidery function of the machine.

Wow. Singer, a very good model, now there are none. My family had the same Singer machine, only ordinary sewing. Thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39