Working the Heel on My Second Sock

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have been busy for the past few days preparing for my trip to Spain this weekend. I have been checking the weather, preparing my wardrobe and making sure that I will be prepared for Spain. I obtained an international driver's permit, because my goal is to rent a car while I am there so that I can explore more areas with a little bit of freedom. Since I have been working on other business, I have not been working as much on my second sock.

33etj9ylmu.jpg

I did however, finish the foot portion and started on the heel. I learned this pattern from watching three different videos from the Nervous Knitter. I also made my own notes on a small notepad so that I could make the second sock without a problem. Well, there's a problem. I can't find my small notepad anywhere. I don't know where I put it. So I went back to the videos, which is when I remembered that I supplemented the videos with instructions from a book.

eesco5k322.jpg

I really need my notepad! I have had to take down three rows because I could not remember the process for making German short rows. I finally got it again, but I tried to multi-task while I was knitting. Bad idea. I think that I knit a couple of stitches when I should have been purling....Ahhhhhh!

viluiu4x3c.jpg

I am going to have to take this last row out again if I want this sock to look decent. I am still glad that I am not using my more expensive yarn that I bought for my thinner socks.

swfni7zisl.jpg

It is all a learning experience.

I am going to put my knitting down for a while because I want to alter the jeans that I painted yesterday.

co7cfnfo23.jpg

They are a little too big and I want to have a slimmer fit so that I can take them with me to Spain. You will see pictures of me in my newly created jeans.

Have a wonderful day. I will too.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

Ooh, getting it all together - I'm like that, too. I have several notebooks with instructions written in each of them (but not the name of the video)! The socks look like they are coming on beautifully, but I agree, when you are learning something new, having a break to get on with life has a big impact! The colour is lovely, though, isn't it? I really like the way it's turning out. The jeans look good, too. Glad you are nearly ready for your trip.

I think if you knit socks, then you will remember the whole process for a lifetime. I have, I can tie a sock with my eyes closed :)

I like the yarn you have chosen for your sock! And totally understand the process of writing down instructions and then losing them. I have gotten into the habit of taking a picture of my notes so I can look it up on my phone when needed.
Fun pants! Enjoy working on them! Hope you have fun in Spain.

Your trousers look amazing and I can only support you in taking them with you. They will conjure up spring (which I still miss here... so cold and stormy)
And the notepad problems I know too good, only a bit differently: I do not loose the notepad, but I often forget to write the name of the pattern above the notes, so later I cannot decipher what I am writing about... also not a good strategy 😂😂
I am sure you will manage with the second sock, and if something is a little different, I guess nobody besides you will notice. The wool you used is still so lovely 😍

Wow! Awesome painted pants! Your yarn colorway is nice, enjoy Spain...

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy your trip. Nice jeans.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14