Needleworkmonday - dryer ball 2 done

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

I finished up my second dryer ball. After getting the core done in black, I started covering it with white roving to prevent any color issues when washing light clothes.

You can still see the black showing through.

20190210_154346.jpg

And here it is done.

20190210_172111.jpg

20190210_172117.jpg

Now I just need to wash the balls a couple times to cement the felting and then I can try using them.

I picked up a new book at the used book store recently. It has instructions for inner frameworks that I think might be fun to play with. Not sure what I am going to make yet, but I'll come up with something.

20190210_220114.jpg

Sort:  

Nice! Let us know how they work for you. The first thing I noticed (with my store bought ones) was how much less time I needed to run the dryer. It took a while for the residue to wash out of clothes from store dryer sheets, so if they're static-y for a while, don't despair!

I've seen ones like it at some of the craft markets around here and I hear they work well. Looking forward to trying them.

These dryer balls are such a great idea and that book looks a lot of fun!
How's the brewing going these days?

I made an apple beer, end of last year I think, that turned out quite good. And a toasted coconut and chai brown ale that is pretty tasty, although not super carbonated. I haven't made anything for a while as the snow keeps falling, making it more difficult to get outside and brew. I have to make a huckleberry soon though so I will have to get out and do it regardless of the snow and cold.

I use the dryer balls with one dryer sheet and it really works well. A friend made a set of 3 for me two years ago and the roving was down low.

She made the core with yarn. I just bought some more roving and brought them back for another two years. Wrapped them with the roving, put them in stockings then wash and dry. Totally worth while! Thanks for sharing 🌸 @lordvdr

The book looks so cute! The creatures with the big noses are wonderful, don't you like to make one?

I am thinking about trying a cat that they have in the book. But I need to get some more supplies first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39