Happy #NeedleworkMonday! My ripples of clean happiness...

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Happy #NeedleworkMonday craftpals!!

(Thank you again to @crosheille and @crystalize for starting this wonderful growing community with amazing crafters! 😍😘)

This week, I would like to share with you a little something.... Guess what this is?

Guess-IMG_2602_LI.jpg

It is......
............
............
............
............
............
.....not a scarf (although it can be )....
.............
.....It is actually...
.............
.............
.............
.............
.. a floor mat for the-back-of-a-fish-tank 😁

The fishies are very hyper fishies (each about 1 ft long) and every now and then, they would splash water, especially when it is feeding time (imagine fishies in full excitement). This causes the narrow-part-of-the-floor-between-the-fish-tank-and-the-wall to have watermarks and because the narrow-part-of-the-floor-between-the-fish-tank-and-the-wall is narrow but visible in the living room, it is hard to clean and the sight of it is not that pleasant to the eye:

Inkedbackoffishtank_LI.jpg

I decided to use the cheapest but hardy acrylic yarns I have (since it is going to be on the floor). I combined 3 yarns because each yarn is of fingering thickness, uses 3mm crochet hook and I needed to crochet something thick. Combining 3 yarns make it a 5mm crochet hook thickness (sorry, am not sure if I am saying all this correctly).

While deciding which stitch to use, I came across a youtube video for a crochet rose bud stitch by Nati:

and thought it would be quite fun to crochet. I decided to try it for the mat, although it is meant for a scarf 😜

The stitch is quite solid and cute and because I used variegated yarns in grey, white, blue and turquoise shades, it creates some sort of a ripple effect.

The pattern uses chains of 3s plus 2 and combines single crochets, half double crochets and double crochets into a single chain, after which we skip 2 stitches and repeat until we reach the last chain, we just do a single crochet into the last chain, chain 2 and then turn to repeat the pattern.
e.g. for my floor mat:

  1. I chained 9 + 2.
  2. Then, SC into the 3rd chain, and then HDC into the same chain, and then DC.
  3. Then skip 2 chains and repeat step 2.
  4. At the last chain, just do a SC, chain 2 and turn.
  5. Repeat steps 2, 3 and 4.
    (I hope I typed this right but you can watch the video and learn from Nati herself :)

The purpose of the floor mat:

  1. To "beautify" the back-of-the-5ft-fish-tank
  2. To simplify cleaning of the back-of-the-5ft-fish-tank, I just need to pull the floor mat out, give it a quick wash, dry and put it back there (the acrylic yarn is cheap, hardy, easy to wash and dry).
  3. To prevent further watermarks on the floor.

FloorMat-TheCleaningJourney.jpg

FloorMat-TheCrochetJourney.jpg

So, if you have cheap yarns that you would like to get rid off use, floor mats using the rose bud crochet pattern is an interesting way to do it.

MyRipplesofCleanHappyness.jpg

Now, I'm going to make another, but this time, as a scarf using nicer yarns :)

ThankYouforReading.jpg

Sort:  

I really like this practical solution @marblely... @jen0revision would like to get fish, but I often wonder re changing water and all that...

Thank you @cryptocariad! Ooo.. @jen0revision is thinking about it? Try to find the type of filters that requires the least maintenance, i.e. you just need to change the fish water once a month (and you only should change part of the water, not all of it, to maintain the fish's ecosystem).

The stitch pattern with the variegated yarn is lovely (I have never seen it) and to use unloved yarn for such a project is a super idea. I am sure your fishes will admire the crochet :-D (and stop to make a mess)
I will contemplate this solution for one plant we own, which always spews back its water ....

Thank you for the lovely comment @neumannsalva! And thanks to #NeedleworkMonday, I am using my yarns (which have been kept for yearsssss)!

I am sure your fishes will admire the crochet :-D (and stop to make a mess)

I am half thinking to catch each of them out of the tank and show them the crochet 😂😂😂 (seee, now you guys can go ahead to splash all you want coz I can clean it easily now!)

I am finding the same - #needleworkmonday is very motivating!

Yay! I feel that it gives us a sense of purpose, drive and continuity to try to create something on a weekly basis.

A clever idea in so many ways - acrylic is perfect for absorbing water and then easy to wash. Thank you for the detailed explanation.

Thank you @shanibeer! It is, isn't it? And I don't feel sad or heartache to have the yarn treated "roughtly" compared to the nicer, more expensive yarns.

Such a great idea!! The floor area is probably thanking you right now.
I’m thinking of using some of my other yarn to make some rugs for stepping out of the shower. We have a few rugs that are starting to tear up because we wash them so often and the rubber is starting to come apart. This would save some money, and all I would need is some type of backing to stop us from sliding across the bathroom floor - LOL!!
Great job!!

Thank you @mrscwin! 😘 I feel happy now that I am finally making use of those yarns now. I bought them when I was very new to crochet and was looking at the cheapest option. But as I found nicer yarns, I started neglecting these cheap yarns. And now, they are happily lying down behind the fish tank floor 😁 (I hope they are happy though they don't have a choice).
Oo yes, I am thinking of more rugs now. Maybe we can try sewing on some rubber bands under to give it some friction

You, clever you! It turned out so pretty, and the three yarn combined really make it unique, and I also love the pattern.

😘😍 Thank you @icybc! The pattern is fun to crochet and because of the combined 3 yarns' thickness, it does make it faster to complete.

Nice!!! I love the way you decided to use this yarn! I really love those stitches, that rose bud is so pretty. Your rug looks really good back there. I like the color of yarn you chose which is relevant for a fish tank because it does look like ripples of waves back there.

Thank you for sharing this clever idea with us! I love hosting #NeedleWorkMonday, it brings me so much joy to see all of these creations...thank you for being apart of it! 💜

Thank you @crosheille!! You brought us together and you gave meaning to Mondays ! You are right, I didn't realize about the color until it was done (actually, it started off as grey and whites and of course, I ran out of yarn haha and replaced with the blue one which suddenly popped up in my stash while I was digging for similar yarn).

You’re welcome!!

Haaa well I’m glad it worked out and you ended up with the blue yarn!!! 😄

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

What an awesome idea!!! Good job! I like the pattern you used as well ^_^

Thank you for entering the Crochet Contest. Winners post will be out later :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marblely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34